10 Best Gemini Alternatives (Judged Against Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra)

10 Best Gemini Alternatives (Judged Against Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra)
Editorial. We review software independently. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission, which funds the testing. See our review methodology and affiliate disclosure.

If Gemini’s usage caps are why you’re leaving, ChatGPT is the pick: its Free and Go plans include unlimited everyday text chats, while Gemini’s limit refreshes every 5 hours until you reach a weekly cap. Claude fits long writing and coding, Microsoft Copilot fits people who work in Word and Outlook, and Proton Lumo fits anyone who won’t accept Google’s 18-month default chat retention.

I judged these Gemini alternatives against Google AI Plus at $4.99 a month and AI Pro at $19.99 a month on limits, data handling, price and what cancelling takes away, using vendor pages read on November 1, 2026.

Gemini homepage with the chat box and sign-in button
Gemini homepage, first screen, gemini.google.com, captured Nov 2026

Quick verdict

Pick by your reason to leave Gemini: ChatGPT for everyday chat without a 5-hour cap, Claude for drafting and code, Microsoft Copilot for Office users, Proton Lumo for encrypted chats, Perplexity for answers with citations.

Stay with Gemini if you use AI Pro’s 5 TB of storage, share the plan with family, or run a team on Google Workspace Business Standard.

The trade-off: none of the ten bundles Google storage or puts Gemini inside Gmail and Docs, so cancelling leaves your account with the 15 GB every Google Account includes.

In This Article (20 sections)

Best Gemini Alternatives at a Glance

ChatGPT

Best for: unlimited everyday chat

Unlimited everyday text chats on Free and Go, where Gemini caps use every 5 hours and weekly.

Limit: Free’s Library holds 500 MB, against the 5 TB on Google AI Pro

Jump to ChatGPT

Claude

Best for: long writing and coding work

Claude Pro includes Claude Code for $20 billed monthly, level with Gemini’s AI Pro at $19.99 a month.

Limit: Claude also caps use every 5 hours and every week, and lists no image generation

Jump to Claude

Microsoft Copilot

Best for: Microsoft 365 households and teams

Microsoft 365 Premium costs the same $19.99 a month as Gemini’s AI Pro and puts Copilot in desktop Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook.

Limit: 2 TB of shared storage against the 5 TB in Gemini’s AI Pro, and the Family tier lists AI for the subscription owner only

Jump to Microsoft Copilot

Proton Lumo

Best for: encrypted, no-log chats

Zero-access encryption and no training on chats, against Gemini’s 18-month default retention.

Limit: no Gmail, Docs or Calendar integration like Gemini’s

Jump to Proton Lumo

Gemini vs Alternatives: Quick Comparison

SoftwareBest forStarting price (unit, billing)Main advantageWhat you give upSwitching note
GeminiGoogle users who want storage and AI togetherNo AI plan (standard limits); AI Plus $4.99/mo; AI Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr5 TB and Gemini in Gmail, Docs, Sheets on AI ProBenchmarkBenchmark
ChatGPTChat without a 5-hour capFree; Go $8/mo; Plus $20/mo, monthly onlyUnlimited everyday text chats on Free and GoGoogle AI Pro’s 5 TB; Free Library holds 500 MBGems become projects
ClaudeLong writing and codingFree; Pro $17/mo billed annuallyClaude Code from ProImage generation (not listed)Gems become Projects
Microsoft CopilotMicrosoft 365 usersPersonal $9.99/mo; Premium $19.99/moCopilot in desktop Office apps2 TB vs 5 TB storageDrive files move to OneDrive by hand
Proton LumoEncrypted chatsFree; Plus $9.99/mo, $119.88 billed yearly, 23% off $12.99Zero-access encryptionGoogle apps; videoGems become Custom Lumos
PerplexityAnswers with citations$17/mo or equivalent, billed annuallyInline citationsGmail, Drive, storagePrompts move by copy and paste
GrokLive X search, short videoFree; Plus $8/mo; Premium $30/moLive web and X searchPremium priced above AI ProGems become custom instructions
PoeMany models, one billFrom $4.99/moAll major modelsStorage; points expireGems become bots
Mistral VibeNon-Google apps, freeFree; Pro $14.99/mo100+ connectors on FreeGoogle AI Pro’s 5 TB; Pro Libraries up to 15GBReconnect apps
Duck.aiFree private chatFree; Plus $9.99/moPrompts not storedDeep Research, filesNo Gems to rebuild
JanOpen and online models in one appFree, open sourceGemma, Llama, Qwen or online modelsNo phone app listedGemini plugs in as an online model
Gemini and 10 alternatives: entry prices and what changes, checked Nov 2026

Sources: Google AI plans, ChatGPT Go, ChatGPT Plus, Claude pricing, Microsoft 365 plans for individuals, Lumo pricing, Perplexity Pro, xAI pricing, Poe purchases FAQ, Mistral pricing, DuckDuckGo subscription plans, Jan, checked November 2026.

Why Look for a Gemini Alternative?

Four reasons send people elsewhere: Gemini’s usage caps, its retention rules, its Google-first app list and the need for a source on every answer. Before you blame the product, my Gemini review weighs whether it is worth paying for at all.

Usage caps. Gemini’s limits are compute-based and refresh every 5 hours until you reach a weekly limit. AI Plus doubles the standard limit and AI Pro gives 4x. Free accounts also read only 32k tokens of context, against 128k on AI Plus and 1 million on AI Pro.

Retention and human review. With Keep Activity on, Gemini auto-deletes activity after 18 months by default. A subset of chats goes to human reviewers, and reviewed chats are kept for up to 3 years even after you delete your activity. With Keep Activity off, new chats are kept 72 hours, but Connected Apps such as Google Workspace stop working on the web. Proton Lumo and Duck.ai answer this.

A Google-first app list. Gemini’s Connected Apps summarize Gmail, create Calendar events and play YouTube Music or Spotify, and AI Pro adds Gemini in Gmail, Docs and Sheets. Outlook and Word users pay for integrations they never open; Microsoft Copilot fits them better.

Sources on every answer. Perplexity says every answer includes inline citations, which suits researchers who must check each claim before using it.

Price is the weakest reason: among the paid entry plans here only Poe matches AI Plus; ChatGPT Go and Grok Plus cost $8. At the top, Gemini’s plans and limits put Ultra 5x at $99.99 and Ultra 20x at $199.99 a month, billed monthly only, level with Claude Max at $100.

On May 19, 2026, Google added the $100 AI Ultra tier and cut the top Ultra plan from $250 to $200 a month.

Google AI plans table with Plus at $4.99, Pro at $19.99, Ultra 5x at $99.99 and Ultra 20x at $199.99 a month
Gemini pricing page, plans and prices, one.google.com, captured Nov 2026

If image generation is your reason to leave, the free AI image generators ranking covers that job.

1. ChatGPT: Best Gemini Alternative for Unlimited Everyday Chat

ChatGPT homepage with the headline about chat, work and code in one place
ChatGPT homepage, chatgpt.com, captured Nov 2026
  • Best for: Gemini Free and AI Plus users who hit the limit in text chat
  • Comparable plan: ChatGPT Plus at $20 a month against AI Pro

ChatGPT removes Gemini’s 5-hour and weekly cap for text chat. Free and Go both include unlimited everyday text chats, subject to abuse-prevention safeguards, while Gemini meters the same conversation by compute. The trade-off is what Google wraps around the model: Google AI Pro’s 5 TB stays behind, and ChatGPT Free’s Library holds 500 MB.

Go is the plan a Gemini Free user should price first. At $8 a month in the US, it adds higher limits for image generation, file uploads and data analysis, plus projects, tasks and custom GPTs. Against AI Plus, that is $8 – $4.99 = $3.01 more a month for uncapped text, and you give up 400 GB of storage.

“Unlimited” covers text only: uploads, image generation, voice and data analysis keep their own limits on Free. My ChatGPT review covers the rest of the product.

Where ChatGPT may be better

  • Everyday text chat has no 5-hour or weekly cap on Free and Go
  • Business seats cost $20 per user per month billed annually

Where Gemini may be better

  • Google AI Pro includes 5 TB of storage across Gmail, Drive and Photos
  • Google AI Pro puts Gemini in Gmail, Docs and Sheets

Plus at $20 a month and Google AI Pro at $19.99 a month tie month to month. OpenAI offers monthly plans for Go and Plus and annual plans only for Business and Enterprise, so paying ahead earns no Plus discount.

ChatGPT pricing cards with Go at $8, Plus at $20 and Pro from $100 a month
ChatGPT pricing page, learn.chatgpt.com, captured Nov 2026
PlanPriceBillingComparable Gemini plan
Go$8 per monthMonthlyAI Plus
Plus$20 per monthMonthly onlyAI Pro
Business$20 per user per monthAnnual, 2-seat minimumWorkspace Business Standard

Sources: ChatGPT Go, ChatGPT Plus, ChatGPT Business FAQ, checked November 2026.

Pros

  • Unlimited everyday text chats on Free and Go
  • Projects, tasks and custom GPTs from Go
  • Self-service export on Free, Go, Plus and Pro

Cons

  • No annual billing on Go, Plus or Pro
  • Uploads, images and voice keep separate limits
  • Ads may appear on Free in some countries

Gems become projects. Personal plans export from Settings > Data controls if you leave later; Business workspaces have no self-service export. The full head-to-head is in ChatGPT vs Gemini.

Skip it if:
you lean on Gemini inside Gmail and Docs every day; keep Gemini, or take Microsoft Copilot if Office is your home.

2. Claude: Best Gemini Alternative for Long Writing and Coding Work

Claude homepage with its tagline and the Try Claude button
Claude homepage, first screen, claude.com, captured Nov 2026
  • Best for: writers and developers who draft and code in one tool
  • Comparable plan: Claude Pro at $17 a month billed annually, or $20 monthly

Leave Gemini for Claude because of the work, not the limits. Claude’s Free and Pro plans also cap use every 5 hours and every week. What Claude adds is Claude Code from Pro up and Connectors on every plan, including Free. The cost is media: Claude’s pricing page lists no image or video generation.

Claude Code is the reason a developer pays, and Pro also adds Claude for Microsoft 365 and Outlook, which suits a writer whose documents live in Word rather than Docs. Connectors are a convenience gain: Gemini’s Connected Apps on the web stop working with Keep Activity off, while Claude lists Connectors on its Free plan. My Claude review judges whether Pro is worth it.

Where Claude may be better

  • Claude Code is included from Pro
  • Claude for Microsoft 365 and Outlook come with Pro
  • Connectors work on every plan, including Free

Where Gemini may be better

  • Google AI plans include image generation with Nano Banana Pro and video with Omni Flash
  • Google AI Pro bundles 5 TB of storage

Claude Pro is $17 a month with annual billing, paid as $200 up front, or $20 billed monthly, so paying yearly saves $20 x 12 – $200 = $40.

Claude pricing page with Free, Pro, Max and Ultra plans
Claude pricing page, plans and prices, claude.com, captured Nov 2026
PlanPriceBillingComparable Gemini plan
Pro$17 per month ($200 up front) or $20Annual or monthlyAI Pro
Max$100 per monthMonthlyUltra 5x
Team Standard$20 per seat per monthAnnual, 2 to 150 seatsWorkspace Business Standard

Sources: Claude pricing, checked November 2026.

Pros

  • Claude Code included from Pro
  • Connectors listed on every plan
  • Up to 1M-token context, varying by model

Cons

  • Limits every 5 hours and every week, as with Gemini
  • No image or video generation listed
  • Free allows up to 5 Projects

Rebuild Gems as Projects. Claude exports chat history from Settings > Privacy on the web or desktop app, but an export cannot be imported into another personal Claude account, so treat it as a backup. If Claude’s caps bite later, the Claude alternatives page starts from there.

Skip it if:
you left Gemini because of usage caps; ChatGPT’s unlimited everyday text chats fix that, and Claude’s caps would follow you.

3. Microsoft Copilot: Best Gemini Alternative for Microsoft 365 Households and Teams

Microsoft Copilot homepage with the chat box
Microsoft Copilot homepage, first screen, copilot.microsoft.com, captured Nov 2026
  • Best for: households and small teams that already work in Word, Excel and Outlook
  • Comparable plan: Microsoft 365 Premium at $19.99 a month
  • Trial: 1 month free on Personal, Family and Premium

Copilot replaces Google’s bundle rather than just the chat window. At the same $19.99 a month as AI Pro, Microsoft 365 Premium buys the Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook desktop apps with Copilot inside them, plus 2 TB of shared storage. The cost is storage: Google AI Pro carries 5 TB. For a closer look at the product itself, read my Microsoft Copilot review.

Families should check both sides. Premium includes everything in Microsoft 365 Family, which covers 1 to 6 people, but Microsoft lists the Family tier’s AI for the subscription owner only; use the trial to confirm who gets Copilot.

Where Microsoft Copilot may be better

  • Copilot works inside the Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook desktop apps
  • Premium covers 1 to 6 people on one subscription

Where Gemini may be better

  • Google AI Pro includes 5 TB against Premium’s 2 TB
  • Google AI Pro family members share its AI benefits

For a business, Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot costs $23.50 per user per month paid yearly, which is $23.50 – $14 = $9.50 more per user than Google Workspace Business Standard on its Annual plan.

Microsoft 365 Premium at $19.99 a month and Microsoft 365 Pro at $99.99 a month
Microsoft Copilot pricing page, microsoft.com, captured Nov 2026
PlanPriceBillingComparable Gemini plan
Microsoft 365 Personal$9.99 per month or $99.99 per yearMonthly or yearlyAI Plus
Microsoft 365 Premium$19.99 per month or $199.99 per yearMonthly or yearlyAI Pro
Business Standard with Copilot$23.50 per user per monthPaid yearlyWorkspace Business Standard

Sources: Microsoft 365 plans for individuals, Microsoft 365 Copilot business pricing, Google Workspace pricing, checked November 2026.

Teams on another Microsoft 365 plan can add Copilot Business from $18 per user per month paid yearly (regular $21), an offer that runs to December 31, 2026. The Microsoft Copilot plans guide lists every tier.

Pros

  • Same $19.99 monthly price as AI Pro
  • Desktop Office apps with Copilot from Personal
  • 1-month free trial on the individual plans

Cons

  • Premium shares 2 TB; Google AI Pro carries 5 TB
  • Family tier lists AI for the subscription owner only
  • Business seats cost more than Workspace Business Standard

Switching moves more than chats: Drive files go to OneDrive by your own download and upload, and Gmail stays put unless you move the mailbox. If ChatGPT is the other assistant on your shortlist, compare the two in my ChatGPT vs Copilot comparison.

Skip it if:
your work runs in Gmail and Docs; Workspace stays cheaper per seat, and ChatGPT or Claude can sit beside it.

4. Proton Lumo: Best Gemini Alternative for Encrypted, No-Log Chats

Proton Lumo homepage with the private AI chat headline
Proton Lumo homepage, first screen, proton.me, captured Nov 2026
  • Best for: people drafting private or client material
  • Comparable plan: Lumo Plus at $9.99 a month, billed $119.88 every 12 months

For a reader who left over Gemini’s retention rules, Lumo is the direct answer. Proton stores every conversation with zero-access encryption, says Lumo does not log chats, and states it never uses your data to train AI. Gemini Apps, by contrast, auto-delete activity after 18 months by default. The price is reach: no Gmail, Docs or Calendar integration.

Files keep some of Gemini’s usefulness: you can link files and folders from Proton Drive for context. Image generation is included, and Plus adds unlimited Projects and Custom Lumos, the nearest thing here to a set of Gems.

Where Proton Lumo may be better

  • Chats are stored with zero-access encryption and not logged
  • Proton states Lumo never trains AI on your data
  • Free chats start without an account

Where Gemini may be better

  • Gemini in Google apps: Gmail, Docs and Sheets on Google AI Pro
  • Google AI plans include video generation with Omni Flash
  • Google AI Plus includes Deep Research in Gemini

Lumo Plus costs $9.99 a month, billed at $119.88 every 12 months, shown as 23% off $12.99. On that yearly-billed rate it is $9.99 – $4.99 = $5 a month more than Google AI Plus, and the gap buys privacy rather than storage.

Lumo pricing page with Free at $0.00 and Lumo AI Plus at $9.99 a month on yearly billing
Proton Lumo pricing page, plans and prices, proton.me, captured Nov 2026
PlanPriceBillingComparable Gemini plan
Free$0NoneGemini Free
Lumo Plus$9.99 per month, 23% off $12.99$119.88 every 12 monthsAI Plus

Sources: Lumo pricing, checked November 2026.

Pros

  • Zero-access encryption and no chat logs
  • Unlimited Projects and Custom Lumos on Plus
  • 30-day money-back guarantee on Plus

Cons

  • No Gmail, Docs or Calendar integration
  • No video generation listed
  • Free plan holds 1 Project

Proton lists no cancellation fees, so the switch is cheap to undo. Your Gemini history does not come with you: export it from Google first and keep it offline if privacy is the reason you left.

Skip it if:
you want several projects without paying; Lumo Free holds 1 Project, while Claude Free allows up to 5.

5. Perplexity: Best Gemini Alternative for Cited Web Answers

Perplexity homepage with the search box
Perplexity homepage, first screen, perplexity.ai, captured Nov 2026
  • Best for: researchers and analysts who check every claim
  • Google model: Gemini 3.8 Flash is among the models Perplexity Pro lists

Perplexity replaces the research half of Gemini, not the assistant half. Every answer includes inline citations, so a researcher can check a claim before using it, and Pro lets you pick between models from several vendors, including a Google one. What you lose is Gmail, Drive and the storage bundle.

The choice against Gemini is format. Gemini’s Deep Research builds a long report per topic; Perplexity gives a sourced answer per question and adds deep research on Pro. My Perplexity review covers the rest.

Where Perplexity may be better

  • Every answer includes inline citations
  • Model choice across vendors, including Google

Where Gemini may be better

  • Gemini sits in Gmail, Docs and Sheets on Google AI Pro
  • Google AI Pro includes 5 TB of storage

Perplexity Pro is $17 a month on annual billing, a $204 commitment ($17 x 12 months) paid ahead. Max is $167 a month billed annually, for maximum Computer usage.

Perplexity plans at $17 and $167 a month or equivalent, billed annually
Perplexity pricing page, plans and prices, perplexity.ai, captured Nov 2026
PlanPriceBillingComparable Gemini plan
Pro$17 per monthBilled annuallyAI Pro
Max$167 per monthBilled annuallyUltra 20x

Sources: Perplexity Pro, checked November 2026.

Pros

  • Inline citations on every answer
  • Model choice that includes a Google model
  • Deep research and Computer credits on Pro

Cons

  • No Gmail, Docs or Drive integration
  • No storage bundle
  • Pro’s listed price assumes annual billing

Nothing needs migrating: research prompts move by copy and paste. The real cost is a second subscription if you keep Gemini for Gmail, so price both before cancelling either.

Skip it if:
you want one assistant for writing, files and mail; ChatGPT or Claude replaces more of Gemini.

6. Grok: Best Gemini Alternative for Live X Search and Cheap Video

Grok homepage with the AI that is useful for everyone headline
Grok homepage, first screen, x.ai, archived by the Internet Archive on Oct 20, 2026
  • Best for: news, trend and social work that needs what is on X right now
  • Comparable plan: Premium at $30 a month; Plus at $8 for the entry tier

When “current” matters more than “Google”, choose Grok. xAI says it searches the web and X live, so answers about breaking news and trends draw on posts as they happen. Plus at $8 a month opens Grok Chat, Voice, Imagine and Build from a shared usage pool, which puts image and video generation in an $8 plan. The catch: the tier with more usage, Premium, costs more than AI Pro.

Imagine makes text-to-video up to 15 seconds at 720p; Super lists 1080p, 15-second videos. For longer or more controlled video, the Google Flow alternatives ranking covers dedicated tools.

Where Grok may be better

  • Live X integration for breaking news and trends
  • Imagine for images and video from the $8 Plus plan

Where Gemini may be better

  • Google AI Pro includes 5 TB of storage and Gemini in Gmail and Docs
  • Google AI Pro costs less than Grok Premium

Grok Plus costs $8 a month and Premium $30 a month. Premium is the tier with 4x Plus usage and the latest Grok models, so matching AI Pro costs $30 – $19.99 = $10.01 more each month.

Grok pricing page with Free at $0 and Plus at $8 a month
Grok pricing page, x.ai, captured Nov 2026
PlanPriceBillingComparable Gemini plan
Plus$8 per monthMonthlyAI Plus
Premium$30 per monthMonthlyAI Pro
Super$100 per monthMonthlyUltra 5x

Sources: xAI pricing, checked November 2026.

Pros

  • Live web and X search
  • Images and 15-second videos from Plus
  • Apps on web, iOS and Android

Cons

  • Plus draws on a shared usage pool
  • Premium costs more than AI Pro
  • No storage or Google app integration

Gems become custom instructions, and my Grok review covers the rest of the assistant. The plans also carry X features such as the Premium checkmark, so part of the price buys social features rather than AI.

Skip it if:
you want sourced research rather than live posts; Perplexity’s inline citations fit that better.

7. Poe: Best Gemini Alternative for Many Models on One Bill

Poe homepage
Poe homepage, poe.com
  • Best for: people who compare answers from several vendors’ models
  • Comparable plan: from $4.99 a month, the same as AI Plus
  • Billing unit: compute points granted daily or monthly

Poe answers a different complaint: being tied to one vendor’s models. Its help center says a subscription gives access to all major models from $4.99 a month, with compute points to spend across them. At the AI Plus price, that suits a user who keeps opening a second assistant to check Gemini’s answers. The trade-off is the unit: unused points do not roll over unless specified.

Subscribers also get image, video and audio bots from Runway, Google DeepMind, ElevenLabs and others. A subscription can be shared with invited members, who use the same points equally.

Where Poe may be better

  • All major models on one subscription
  • Subscriptions shared with invited members

Where Gemini may be better

  • Google AI Plus includes 400 GB of storage at the same entry price
  • Gemini works inside Gmail and other Google apps

Poe starts at $4.99 a month, on monthly or annual subscriptions, with points granted daily or monthly depending on the plan. Add-on points last one year and are not refundable.

Poe help center section on plans starting at $4.99 a month
Poe pricing page, help.poe.com, captured Nov 2026
PlanPriceBillingComparable Gemini plan
SubscriptionFrom $4.99 per monthMonthly or annualAI Plus
Add-on pointsSold separatelyUsable for one yearAI credits on AI Pro

Sources: Poe purchases FAQ, checked November 2026.

Pros

  • All major models from $4.99 a month
  • Shared subscriptions
  • Image, video and audio bots in one app

Cons

  • Unused points do not roll over unless specified
  • No storage bundle
  • No Gmail or Google app integration

Rebuild each Gem as a bot with the same instructions.

Skip it if:
predictable limits matter more than model choice; ChatGPT’s unlimited everyday text chats are simpler to plan around.

8. Mistral Vibe: Best Gemini Alternative for a Non-Google App Stack on a Free Plan

Mistral homepage
Mistral Vibe homepage, first screen, mistral.ai, captured Nov 2026
  • Best for: people whose apps are not Google’s
  • Free plan: 100+ connectors, limited messages and web searches

Start with Mistral Vibe if your tools aren’t Google’s and you’d rather not pay yet. Its Free plan lists 100+ connectors, against Gemini’s Connected Apps, which center on Gmail, Calendar, YouTube Music, Spotify and WhatsApp. The trade-off is storage: Pro Libraries hold up to 15GB, against 5 TB on Google AI Pro.

Pro adds more messages and web searches and all-day coding in the CLI, IDE or web. Against Google AI Pro, it costs $19.99 – $14.99 = $5 less a month for a coding-and-connectors plan with no video generation listed.

Where Mistral Vibe may be better

  • 100+ connectors on the Free plan
  • All-day coding in the CLI, IDE or web on Pro

Where Gemini may be better

  • Google AI Pro includes 5 TB of storage
  • Google AI Pro adds Gemini to Gmail, Docs and Sheets

Pro is $14.99 a month, excluding taxes. Team, the workspace for teams, is $24.99 per user per month with up to 30GB of storage per user and data export; the page does not state its billing basis.

Mistral pricing with Free and Pro at $14.99 a month
Mistral Vibe pricing page, mistral.ai, captured Nov 2026
PlanPriceBillingComparable Gemini plan
Pro$14.99 per monthMonthly, excluding taxesAI Pro
Team$24.99 per user per monthNot stated on the pageWorkspace Business Standard

Sources: Mistral pricing, checked November 2026.

Pros

  • 100+ connectors on Free
  • Coding sessions on Free, all-day on Pro
  • Team includes data export

Cons

  • Libraries cap at 15GB on Pro and 30GB per user on Team
  • Free limits messages and web searches
  • Team billing basis not stated

Moving in means reconnecting each app through its connectors and rebuilding Gems as agents.

Skip it if:
you need Office apps alongside the assistant; Microsoft Copilot bundles them.

9. Duck.ai: Best Gemini Alternative for Free, Anonymized Chat

Duck.ai homepage with the chat box
Duck.ai homepage, first screen, duck.ai, captured Nov 2026
  • Best for: private, occasional questions without a subscription
  • Comparable plan: free; Plus at $9.99 a month adds better models and a VPN
  • Free models: include Gemma 4 31B

Duck.ai suits the reader who wants privacy and doesn’t want to pay. DuckDuckGo anonymizes your conversations with third-party models, says its AI features don’t store prompts or train on your data, and keeps recent chats on your device rather than its servers. The trade-off is depth: no Deep Research, no video and nothing connected to your mail or files.

Gemma 4 31B is on the free list too, so a reader can use it without a subscription.

Where Duck.ai may be better

  • Prompts are not stored or used for training
  • Recent chats stay on your device

Where Gemini may be better

  • Google AI plans include Deep Research and video generation
  • Gemini in Google apps: Connected Apps summarize Gmail and create Calendar events

Duck.ai is free within daily limits. Two subscriptions raise them, and both bundle a VPN and identity protection. Plus costs $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year. The Pro plan is $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year.

DuckDuckGo post about its Plus and Pro subscription plans
Duck.ai pricing page, first screen, spreadprivacy.com, captured Nov 2026
PlanPriceBillingComparable Gemini plan
Plus$9.99 per month or $99.99 per yearMonthly or yearlyAI Plus
Pro$19.99 per month or $199.99 per yearMonthly or yearlyAI Pro

Sources: DuckDuckGo subscription plans, Duck.ai help, checked November 2026.

Pros

  • Free models include Gemma 4 31B
  • No prompt storage or training on your data
  • Paid plans bundle a VPN

Cons

  • No Deep Research or video generation
  • No file storage or Google app integration
  • Subscriptions sold in the U.S., Canada, the E.U. and the U.K.

There is nothing to migrate: Duck.ai has no Gems equivalent and keeps history on your device.

Skip it if:
you need projects or saved assistants in a private tool; Proton Lumo Plus adds unlimited Projects and Custom Lumos.

10. Jan: Best Gemini Alternative for Open and Online Models in One Free App

Jan homepage with the Meet Jan headline and download button
Jan homepage, first screen, jan.ai, captured Nov 2026
  • Best for: people who want to pick the model for each job
  • Comparable plan: free and open source
  • Limit: the homepage offers a Mac download and lists no phone app

To choose the model yourself, try Jan. It is free and open source, and lets you choose open models or plug in online models. That suits a developer or a privacy-minded user who wants one app for both kinds. The trade-off is reach: the homepage lists no phone app, and its Memory feature is marked Coming Soon.

Readers who search for an AI “like Gemini with no restrictions” usually want control: in Jan you pick the model, and each model’s rules still apply.

Where Jan may be better

  • Free and open source
  • Open models such as Gemma plus online ones in one app

Where Gemini may be better

  • Google AI plans include Deep Research and video generation
  • Works on phones through the Gemini app

Jan costs nothing: the homepage lists it as free and open source, with no paid plan to set against Google AI Plus.

Jan homepage first screen with its download button
Jan pricing page, first screen, jan.ai, captured Nov 2026
PlanPriceBillingComparable Gemini plan
Jan appFreeNoneGemini Free

Sources: Jan, checked November 2026.

Pros

  • Free and open source
  • Lists Gemma, Llama and Qwen among open models
  • Plugs in online models when needed

Cons

  • Memory is marked Coming Soon
  • No phone app listed on the homepage
  • No cloud research or storage

Before relying on Jan, run your usual Gemini prompts through an open model in it and compare the answers.

Skip it if:
you want the assistant on your phone; Jan’s homepage lists no phone app, and Duck.ai gives you free private chat.

When Should You Stick With Gemini?

Stay with Gemini if your Google storage, your family plan or your Workspace team carries most of its value. Of the ten alternatives, Microsoft 365 Premium comes closest, with 2 TB shared by 1 to 6 people against 5 TB on Google AI Pro. AI Plus is the cheap case: 400 GB, 128k tokens of context and Deep Research for $4.99 a month.

Storage is the biggest reason. Next to Google AI Pro’s 5 TB across Gmail, Drive and Photos, ChatGPT Free’s Library holds 500 MB and Mistral’s Pro Libraries up to 15GB. If you store more than a couple of terabytes, leaving means buying storage elsewhere.

Families come next: Google says AI Pro family members get the AI benefits at no extra cost, with sharing for up to five others.

Workspace teams have their own case. Workspace Standard includes 2 TB of pooled storage per user, business email and Gemini in Gmail, Docs and Meet for $14 per user per month on the Annual plan. Google says company data in Gemini is not used to train models.

Long files are the last case: AI Pro reads 1 million tokens, up to 1,500 pages of text by Google’s count.

Consider switching if

  • You hit the 5-hour or weekly limit in everyday text chat
  • You won’t accept 18-month default retention and human review
  • Your household or team works in Word, Excel and Outlook
  • You need inline citations on every answer

Consider staying with Gemini if

  • You use more than the 2 TB Microsoft 365 Premium gives
  • Your family shares AI Pro’s AI benefits
  • Your team runs Workspace Business Standard
  • AI Plus already covers your use

How to Choose the Right Gemini Alternative

Your priorityAlternative to considerReasonTrade-off
You hit Gemini’s caps in everyday chatChatGPTUnlimited everyday text chats on Free and GoTools keep separate limits
Long writing and codeClaudeClaude Code from ProCaps every 5 hours and every week remain
Office apps at home or workMicrosoft CopilotCopilot in Word, Excel and OutlookLess storage than AI Pro
Private chatsProton LumoZero-access encryption, no logsNo Google apps
Answers you must checkPerplexityInline citationsPro priced on annual billing
Live news and short videoGrokLive X search, 15-second videosPremium costs more than AI Pro
Many models on one billPoeAll major models on one subscriptionUnused points expire
Non-Google apps on a free planMistral Vibe100+ connectors on FreePro Libraries up to 15GB
Free, with no subscriptionDuck.aiPrompts not storedNo Deep Research or files
Open and online models in one appJanFree and open source, any modelNo phone app listed
Storage, family or WorkspaceStay with Gemini5 TB, family AI benefits, Workspace bundleCaps and retention rules stay
Which Gemini alternative fits which reason to leave, checked Nov 2026

Sources: ChatGPT free tier FAQ, Claude pricing, Grok, Mistral pricing, checked November 2026.

For the wider field, the best AI chatbots ranking sorts the same assistants by job and budget.

What One Person and a Five-Person Team Pay

On annual billing, Google AI Pro, Microsoft 365 Premium and Claude Pro tie near $200 a year for one person, about $40 under twelve months of monthly-only ChatGPT Plus; for five people, Workspace Business Standard is the cheapest and includes business email.

OptionPlanOne person, per yearFive seats, per yearWhat the price includes
GeminiAI Pro, Annual; Workspace Business Standard$199.99$14 x 5 x 12 = $8405 TB on AI Pro; Workspace adds email and 2 TB per user
ChatGPTPlus; Business$20 x 12 = $240$20 x 5 x 12 = $1,200AI seats only; Business needs 2 seats
ClaudePro; Team, Standard seat$200$20 x 5 x 12 = $1,200AI seats only; Team runs 2 to 150 seats
Microsoft Copilot365 Premium; Business Standard with Copilot$199.99$23.50 x 5 x 12 = $1,410Office apps; business email on Business Standard
Yearly cost for one person and five seats, checked Nov 2026

Sources: Google AI plans, Google Workspace pricing, ChatGPT Plus, ChatGPT Business FAQ, Claude pricing, Microsoft 365 plans for individuals, Microsoft 365 Copilot business pricing, checked November 2026.

Two edge cases move these numbers. New Workspace customers pay $8.40 per user per month for 12 months on their first 20 users, so year one for five seats is $8.40 x 5 x 12 = $504. And a Workspace team that adds ChatGPT Business keeps paying for Workspace mail and storage, so each seat costs $14 + $20 = $34 a month.

Migrating From Gemini: What to Consider

Check storage first, export second and cancel last, because the Google AI plan holds your storage, not just your chats.

Storage note

AI Plus includes 400 GB and AI Pro 5 TB across Gmail, Drive and Photos. Every Google Account includes 15 GB, which counts toward those totals.

  1. Check your Google storage use. Anything above the 15 GB every Google Account includes needs another plan or a new home.
  2. Export through Google Takeout, which can deliver the archive to Drive, Dropbox or OneDrive; an archive added to Drive counts toward your storage. Confirm your Gemini activity and Gems are in it.
  3. Rebuild Gems as a ChatGPT project, a Claude Project, a Custom Lumo or a Poe bot. The Gemini Skills vs Gems guide shows how Gems are built.
  4. Reconnect your apps through Claude’s Connectors or Mistral’s connectors, or accept losing Gemini’s Gmail, Calendar and Spotify links.
  5. Test your own prompts first on ChatGPT Free, Claude Free, Lumo Free or the Microsoft 365 trial.
  6. For teams, keep Workspace until mail and files have a new home.
  7. Keep the archive, then cancel. Google lists its AI plans as cancel anytime.

How I Evaluated the Alternatives

I judged every tool against Gemini’s own published limits, retention rules and prices. I considered the 10 picks above and the others under Also Considered.

Two must-haves came first: an official page stating the plans, and a distinct reason to leave Gemini that the tool solves. The ranking criteria, in order:

CriterionWhy it matters to a Gemini leaver
Usage caps and contextGemini meters chat in 5-hour windows up to a weekly cap
Google-stack fitWhat cancelling takes away
Data handlingGemini keeps activity 18 months by default
Cited or live researchSeparates research tools from assistants
Comparable priceAI Plus is hard to undercut
Migration effortStorage and Gems set the real cost
Ranking criteria for the Gemini alternatives, in order

Sources: Gemini Apps limits, Gemini Apps Privacy Hub, checked November 2026.

The evidence is of two kinds: verified facts from vendor pricing, plan and help pages read on November 1, 2026, and my editorial inference about what they mean for someone leaving Gemini. Answers depend on your own prompts, so run your usual ones through the free tiers of your top two before you cancel. For free options beyond this list, the free AI tools hub covers the wider category.

Also Considered

  • DeepSeek: its privacy policy says it stores personal data in the People’s Republic of China.
  • Meta AI: free AI image creation, but no plan terms to compare.
  • GitHub Copilot: coding only, from $10 a month on Pro.
  • LM Studio: a local agent for open models; Jan ranks instead because it also connects online models.
  • Zemith: a multi-model app listing Gemini models; Poe covers the job.
  • Cabina.AI: a multi-model workspace; Poe ranks for the same job.
  • Sintra AI: 12 specialist “AI employees” for business owners, not an assistant.
  • Tactiq: a meeting note taker for Google Meet, Zoom and Teams, too narrow.
  • Gemini Notebook: Google’s own product, so not a way to leave Gemini.

FAQ

Which Gemini alternatives are free?

Seven picks list a free plan: ChatGPT Free with unlimited everyday text chats, Claude Free, Grok Free, Lumo Free with 1 Project, Mistral Vibe Free with 100+ connectors, Duck.ai within daily limits, and the open-source Jan. Microsoft 365 offers a 1-month free trial instead.

Can I keep using a Google model after leaving Gemini?

Yes. Perplexity Pro lists Gemini 3.8 Flash, Google’s fast model, among its models, and Jan lists Gemma and Gemini among the models you can choose, so leaving the Gemini app does not mean giving up Gemini. Gemma 4 31B is also free in Duck.ai, without a subscription.

Which Gemini alternatives work on Android?

Claude lists chat on web, iOS, Android and desktop, Grok says it is available on web, iOS and Android, and ChatGPT and Poe document their Android apps in their help centers. Mistral Vibe’s Free plan lists access on web and mobile, while Jan’s homepage lists no phone app.

Final Verdict

Leave Gemini for a specific reason. If the 5-hour and weekly caps end your work, take ChatGPT, starting with Go. For long drafts and code, take Claude Pro. If you live in Word and Outlook, Microsoft 365 Premium costs the same per month as AI Pro and moves the whole stack. If Google’s retention rules are the problem, Proton Lumo encrypts and keeps no chat logs, and Perplexity is the pick when every answer needs a source.

Stay on Gemini when storage, family sharing or a Workspace team carries the value. The biggest trade-off of any move is that Google storage and Gemini inside Gmail and Docs stay behind, so check your storage and export before you cancel.

About the author

Macedona is the founder and lead reviewer at SaaS CRM Review, where he has published 250+ in-depth reviews, pricing guides, and comparisons of CRM and SaaS tools. Each review is based on hands-on testing or verified documentation, and every article states clearly which method was used. Pricing and features are checked against official vendor sources, with the verification date noted in the article.

Follow the author:
Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *