10 Best AI Chatbots in 2026: Which One to Pay For, by Job and Budget

Best AI Chatbots featured image showing AI chat, automation, pricing, privacy, and research use cases.
Editorial. We review software independently. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission, which funds the testing. See our review methodology and affiliate disclosure.

The best AI chatbots for a small team split by job: ChatGPT for mixed daily work, Claude for long writing and code, Gemini for Google Workspace users and Perplexity for cited research. The main paid plans of the first two cost $20 a month (ChatGPT Plus, billed monthly) and $17 a month on annual billing (Claude Pro).

Google AI Plus costs $4.99 a month, and Perplexity Pro costs $17 a month billed annually. I checked the prices on the vendors’ own pages and ranked the assistants by the job each does best; the tenth pick, Character.AI, is for character roleplay rather than work.

Quick verdict

This list is for owners, managers and freelancers choosing a paid AI assistant for their own work, not a bot that answers customers.

My main pick is ChatGPT: Plus is the first tier where deep research, Codex and the Office and Google Sheets extensions stop being limited.

Pick Claude for long documents and code, or for work inside Microsoft 365 and Outlook. Pick Gemini if your files live in Gmail and Drive, and Perplexity when answers need sources. For roleplay with characters, Character.AI is the pick, ranked last because of its Chapter 11 sale process.

Team plans are where the picks split. Ten Claude Team seats cost $20 x 10 seats x 12 months = $2,400 a year on annual billing, while ten Perplexity Enterprise Pro seats cost $34 x 10 x 12 = $4,080.

ChatGPT

Best for: mixed daily work

Plus bundles deep research, scheduled tasks, custom GPTs and expanded Codex for $20 a month.

Limit: personal plans train on your content unless you opt out

Jump to ChatGPT

Claude

Best for: long writing and code

Pro adds Claude Code and Research for $17 a month on annual billing.

Limit: no fixed message count; limits reset every five hours

Jump to Claude

Google Gemini

Best for: Google Workspace users

Google AI Plus puts Gemini inside Gmail, Vids and other Google apps.

Limit: the Free plan runs the Flash-Lite model, and usage limits have a weekly cap

Jump to Google Gemini

Perplexity

Best for: cited research

Every answer carries inline citations, and Pro lets you select between AI models from several vendors.

Limit: Pro and Max are for personal use; a team needs Enterprise Pro

Jump to Perplexity

In This Article (17 sections)

Best AI Chatbots at a Glance

Among the top four picks, Google AI Plus is the cheapest paid entry. For a team, a Claude Team standard seat costs $20 per seat per month billed annually, against $34 for Perplexity Enterprise Pro.

SoftwareBest forStarting priceFree plan or trialStandout featureKey limitation
ChatGPTMixed daily workPlus: $20 per month, billed monthly (Go price not verified)Free planDeep research and Codex in one planTrains on content unless you opt out
ClaudeLong writing and codePro: $17 per month billed annuallyFree planClaude Code and Research on ProNo fixed message count
Google GeminiGoogle Workspace usersGoogle AI Plus: $4.99 per monthFree plan; Workspace 14-day trialGemini inside Gmail and Google appsWeekly usage cap
PerplexityCited researchPro: $17 per month, billed annuallyFree planInline citations, choice of modelsPro is for personal use only
Mistral VibeChat plus all-day codingPro: $14.99 per monthFree planVibe coding agentSAML SSO only on Enterprise
GrokPeople who pay for XPlus: $8 per monthFree planOne pool across Grok and CursorCursor’s third-party models cost extra
DeepSeekReasoning via API$0.30 per 1M input tokens (peak)Prepaid balance1M-token contextNo team plan listed
PoeMany models, one billFrom $4.99 per monthFree useOne subscription across modelsMembers cannot be capped
Duck.aiPrivate chatFreeFreeChats stored on your deviceAdvanced models need a subscription
Character.AICharacter roleplay chatPrice shown: c.ai+ $94.99 per yearFree plan10M+ characters, memory and LorebookNo team plan; Chapter 11 sale process announced Oct 12, 2026
The 10 best AI chatbots compared, prices checked October 2026 (USD)

Sources: ChatGPT, Claude, Google AI plans, Perplexity, Mistral, xAI, DeepSeek, Poe, Duck.ai, Character.AI pricing and help pages, and the Character.AI blog, checked October 2026.

ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Perplexity each list a Free plan, so the real decision is which paid plan holds the feature your job needs.

How I Chose These AI Chatbots

I considered the tools ranked below and those named under Also Considered, using official pricing and help pages checked in October 2026. The ranking rests on documentation, not a hands-on trial, and carries no scores.

Three must-haves removed tools first. Each needed a published self-serve plan or price, had to serve your own work rather than answer customers, and had to be sold on its own, not only on top of another suite’s license.

The rest were ranked by the distinct job each covers best, how clearly its pages gate features by plan, a team plan with data controls, and the entry price.

Character.AI is the one pick sold for character roleplay rather than as an assistant, and it ranks tenth for three sourced reasons. The company entered a Chapter 11 sale process on October 12, 2026, its payments are non-refundable except where the law requires, and its plans stop at c.ai+, with no team tier.

ProductJob it coversEntry paid planTeam plan with SSONo training on your data by default
ChatGPTMixed daily workGo (price not verified)Not listedNot listed (opt-out)
ClaudeLong writing and codeProTeamTeam
Google GeminiGoogle Workspace usersGoogle AI PlusNot listedNot listed
PerplexityCited researchProEnterprise ProEnterprise Pro
Mistral VibeChat plus all-day codingProEnterpriseNot listed (opt-out)
GrokX subscribersPlusEnterpriseNot listed
DeepSeekAPI reasoningPay per tokenNot listedNot listed
PoeMany modelsSubscriptionNot listedNot listed
Duck.aiPrivate chatFree chat; subscription price not stated on the pageNot listedFree and paid
Character.AICharacter roleplay chatPaid plan shown: c.ai+ (lite price not verified)Not listedNot listed (policy lists training)
Selection criteria: the plan that lists each feature, checked October 2026

Sources: ChatGPT pricing, Claude pricing, Perplexity Enterprise pricing, Mistral pricing, xAI pricing, DuckDuckGo subscription page, Character.AI privacy policy, checked October 2026.

The evidence is the vendors’ own pages plus my analysis, and each team total in the article shows its math. The list does not measure answer quality, and ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini describe usage limits without publishing message counts.

How the models produce an answer is a separate question, covered in my explainer on what generative AI is. The first pick is the safest default for varied work.

1. ChatGPT: Best for Mixed Daily Work

ChatGPT homepage, first screen
ChatGPT homepage, first screen, chatgpt.com, archived by the Internet Archive on Oct 11, 2026
  • Best for: work that jumps between writing, files, research and code
  • Starting price: Plus at $20 per month, billed monthly; Go price not verified
  • Free plan or trial: Free plan
  • Integrations: count not published; apps that connect to internal tools start on Plus

ChatGPT is still the safest default when you cannot predict next month’s work. Plus is the first plan where deep research, Codex and the Excel, Word, PowerPoint and Google Sheets extensions are no longer marked limited, so one subscription covers drafting, spreadsheets, research and code.

Go, the tier below Plus, adds scheduled tasks, more uploads and data analysis, but deep research stays limited and OpenAI notes that Go may include ads. I would treat Go as a better free plan for chat, not as a work plan.

I rank ChatGPT above Claude for breadth: Plus lists image creation, voice with video, data analysis, scheduled tasks and Codex, while Claude’s case rests on depth. It ranks above Gemini because it does not depend on one office suite.

Read the privacy line before you pay. On the personal plans, OpenAI’s pricing page says content is used to train its models, with an opt-out, and lists no SAML SSO or admin console. A company that needs those buys ChatGPT Business, sold per user per month from 2 users.

Pro reasoning is powered by GPT-6 Astra, which Plus also lists, with expanded access on Pro.

Pro comes in three tiers, Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500, and the new Pro 500 costs $500 a month as the only one with Ultrafast.

ChatGPT Plus costs $20 a month, and OpenAI’s help center says Go, Plus and Pro have no annual billing. Pro 200 costs ten times Plus, so it pays only if Plus limits stop your work every week. Each tier’s limits are compared in my ChatGPT pricing guide.

ChatGPT pricing page with the Free, Go, Plus and Pro plans
ChatGPT pricing page, first screen, chatgpt.com, archived by the Internet Archive on Oct 11, 2026
PlanPriceBillingKey limit
FreeFreen/aLimited deep research, uploads and Codex
GoSee pricing pageMonthlyMay include ads
Plus$20 per monthMonthlyUsage limits apply
Pro 100Not verifiedMonthlyLess usage than Pro 200
Pro 200$200 per monthMonthlyNo Ultrafast
Pro 500$500 per monthMonthlyHighest Pro usage
BusinessPer user per monthMonthly or annualFrom 2 users

Sources: ChatGPT pricing, What is ChatGPT Plus?, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, checked October 2026.

Pros

  • Plus lifts deep research, Codex and the Office extensions out of “limited”
  • Scheduled tasks start on Go, below Plus
  • Monthly billing on every personal plan, so no annual lock-in

Cons

  • Training opt-out is a step you must remember on Free to Pro
  • No SAML SSO or admin console on any personal plan
  • Plus says “Limits apply” without a published message count
Skip it if:
you want personal-plan data kept out of training without an opt-out step, or your month is mostly long documents and code, where Claude’s Pro plan is built around Claude Code and Research.

The full verdict on the product, beyond its plans, is in my ChatGPT review.

2. Claude: Best for Long Writing and Code

Claude homepage, first screen
Claude homepage, first screen, claude.com, captured Oct 2026
  • Best for: long documents, analysis and code
  • Starting price: Pro at $17 per month billed annually, or $20 billed monthly
  • Free plan or trial: Free plan
  • Integrations: count not published; Claude in Chrome, Microsoft 365 and Outlook start on Pro

Paid annually, Claude Pro costs $200 for the year, $40 less than 12 months of ChatGPT Plus at $20 x 12 = $240. For a writer or developer who already knows which assistant they will use daily, that makes Claude the cheaper commitment.

The paid step is about depth. Pro adds Claude Code, Research, Claude in Chrome and Claude for Microsoft 365 and Outlook, none of which Free lists. Every plan lists a context window of up to 1M tokens, varying by model, which matters when one conversation holds a long report or a codebase.

Claude Code product page with a coding session
Claude Code product page, first screen, as shown on claude.com, captured Oct 2026

Claude Pro adds Claude’s Office and Outlook add-ins. ChatGPT Plus lists Excel, Word, PowerPoint and spreadsheet extensions, and no Outlook extension appears on its pricing page, so the Outlook add-in is what separates the two.

Usage is the limit to plan around. Limits reset on a rolling five-hour window, paid plans add weekly limits, and Anthropic publishes no fixed message count. Claude Code draws from the same pool as chat, so a heavy coding day eats into drafting time.

Claude ranks second because ChatGPT’s single plan covers more kinds of everyday work. If the real choice is between two coding agents, my Codex vs Claude Code comparison puts them side by side.

Claude Team covers teams of 2 to 150 and adds SSO and no model training on your content by default; the personal plans list training as opt-out. Team also lists Claude’s Office and Outlook add-ins, so a company buys Team rather than Pro.

Enterprise costs $20 per seat per month billed annually, with a 20-seat minimum, plus usage at API rates.

Claude Pro costs $17 a month with annual billing ($200 billed up front) or $20 billed monthly, and Max starts at $100 a month. Annual billing only makes sense once Claude is your main tool. Pro, Max and Team are compared plan by plan in my Claude pricing guide.

Claude pricing page with the Free, Pro and Max plans
Claude pricing page, plans and prices, claude.com, captured Oct 2026
PlanPriceBillingKey limit
Free$0n/aNo Claude Code or Research
Pro$17 per month, or $20 monthlyAnnual or monthlyNo fixed message count
MaxFrom $100 per monthMonthly5x or 20x Pro usage
Team standard seat$20 per seat per month, or $25 monthlyAnnual or monthlyTeams of 2 to 150
Team premium seat$100 per seat per month, or $125 monthlyAnnual or monthly5x standard-seat usage
Enterprise$20 per seat per month plus API usageAnnual20-seat minimum

Sources: Claude pricing, checked October 2026.

Pros

  • Annual Pro costs $40 less than a year of ChatGPT Plus
  • Claude Code is included in all paid plans
  • Team adds SSO and no training by default from 2 seats

Cons

  • No fixed message count, with weekly caps on paid plans
  • Claude Code and chat share one usage pool
  • Project sharing is not on Free, Pro or Max
Skip it if:
you plan heavy coding and heavy drafting in the same week, because Claude Code draws from the same usage pool as chat and a long coding day leaves less for writing. Readers who rule Claude out will find replacements in my Claude alternatives list.

My Claude review goes deeper on the writing and coding workflow. The next pick works from inside Gmail.

3. Google Gemini: Best for Google Workspace Users

Google Gemini homepage, first screen
Google Gemini homepage, first screen, gemini.google.com, captured Oct 2026
  • Best for: people and teams whose files live in Gmail, Docs and Drive
  • Starting price: Google AI Plus at $4.99 per month
  • Free plan or trial: Free plan; Google Workspace has a 14-day trial
  • Integrations: count not published; Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, Vids and Chrome

Yes, Gemini is worth paying for if your files already live in Google. Google AI Plus adds Gemini directly in Gmail, Vids and other Google apps, 400 GB of storage and 2x the Free plan’s usage. For productivity, that placement matters more than the model: the assistant works where the email already is.

The free plan already researches: Google lists Deep Research, Canvas and Gemini Live on Free, which runs the Flash-Lite model. Paying buys the model and the apps. Plus moves you to Flash, and Google AI Pro adds the Pro model, Gemini 4 Argon, the Jules coding agent and 4x Free usage.

A Google Workspace team gets Gemini inside the office suite. Business Standard lists Gemini in Gmail, Docs, Meet and more, plus the Gemini app with expanded access. New customers pay an intro price for 12 months on their first 20 users, and the page states that all plans are billed monthly.

Gemini ranks third because its edge depends on where your files are; for a team on Outlook and SharePoint it disappears. Usage limits are compute-based, refresh every five hours up to a weekly limit, and can be extended with AI credits.

Google AI Plus costs $4.99 a month, Google AI Pro $19.99 and Google AI Ultra starts at $99.99 a month. A year of Plus is $4.99 x 12 = $59.88, less than three months of ChatGPT Plus at $20 x 3 = $60. Plus, Pro and Ultra are broken down in my Gemini pricing guide.

Google AI plans page with the Free, Plus, Pro and Ultra plans
Google Gemini pricing page, plans and prices, gemini.google, captured Oct 2026
PlanPriceBillingKey limit
Free$0 per monthn/aFlash-Lite model
Google AI Plus$4.99 per monthPer month2x Free usage
Google AI Pro$19.99 per monthPer month4x Free usage
Google AI Ultra$99.99 or $199.99 per monthPer month5x or 20x Pro usage
Workspace Business Starter$7 per user per month ($3.50 intro)Billed monthlyGemini in Gmail
Workspace Business Standard$14 per user per month on a 1-year commitment ($8.40 intro)Billed monthlyIntro: first 20 users, 12 months

Sources: Google AI plans, Google Workspace pricing, checked October 2026.

Pros

  • Gemini in Gmail on the lowest paid personal tier
  • Deep Research is listed on the Free plan
  • Business Standard adds Gemini to Docs and Meet inside the suite

Cons

  • The Free plan runs the Flash-Lite model
  • Compute-based limits with no fixed count
  • Workspace intro prices end after 12 months
Skip it if:
your company works in Office apps and Outlook, where Claude Team lists Claude’s Office and Outlook add-ins.

My Gemini review covers how Gemini works with Gmail and Drive in more depth. Gemini answers from your files; the next pick answers with sources you can check.

4. Perplexity: Best for Cited Research

Perplexity homepage, first screen
Perplexity homepage, first screen, perplexity.ai, captured Oct 2026
  • Best for: researchers, analysts and marketers who must cite sources
  • Starting price: Pro at $17 a month or equivalent, when billed annually
  • Free plan or trial: Free plan
  • Integrations: count not published for Pro; Enterprise Pro searches across the web, files and apps

Perplexity earns a separate subscription when an answer has to be defended. Its Pro page says every answer includes inline citations from trusted sources, so checking a claim means opening the source beside it.

Pro adds Deep research and lets you select between AI models. The Pro page lists GPT-6.1 Sol, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Claude Sonnet 5.5 and Grok 4.7 among them, so one bill buys search with several vendors’ models.

The catch is the account type. Pro and Max are for personal use only, so a team buys Enterprise Pro. That plan guarantees no training on your data, adds SSO, lists SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI DSS compliance, and cites premium sources such as PitchBook and Statista.

Perplexity ranks fourth because it does one job best rather than replacing a general assistant. I would run it beside ChatGPT or Claude, not instead of one.

Perplexity Pro costs $17 a month or equivalent when billed annually, a $204 year at $17 x 12. Enterprise Pro costs $34 per seat per month and Enterprise Max $271, both billed annually. Pro, Max and Enterprise are compared in my Perplexity pricing guide.

Perplexity pricing page with the Pro and Max plans
Perplexity pricing page, plans and prices, perplexity.ai, captured Oct 2026
PlanPriceBillingKey limit
FreeFreen/aPro adds Deep research
Pro$17 per monthBilled annuallyPersonal use only
Max$167 per monthBilled annuallyPersonal use only
Enterprise Pro$34 per seat per monthBilled annually500 Computer credits per seat a month
Enterprise Max$271 per seat per monthBilled annually15,000 Computer credits per seat a month

Sources: Perplexity Pro, Perplexity Enterprise pricing, checked October 2026.

Pros

  • Inline citations make claims quick to check
  • Pro lists models from OpenAI, Google, Anthropic and xAI
  • Enterprise Pro guarantees no training on your data

Cons

  • Pro and Max are for personal use only
  • Prices are published on annual billing
  • An Enterprise Pro seat costs more than a Claude Team seat at $20
Skip it if:
you want one tool for writing, files and general work, because Perplexity’s plans are built around answers and research.

My Perplexity review covers the citation workflow in detail. With research covered, the next pick puts chat and a coding agent in one subscription.

5. Mistral Vibe: Best for Chat Plus All-Day Coding

Mistral Vibe homepage, first screen
Mistral Vibe homepage, first screen, mistral.ai, captured Oct 2026
  • Best for: developers who want chat and a coding agent in one subscription
  • Starting price: Pro at $14.99 per month, excluding taxes
  • Free plan or trial: Free plan
  • Integrations: 100+ connectors on Free; VS Code and JetBrains plugins

Mistral sells Pro as “full access to Vibe for all-day coding and long-running tasks”, so one subscription holds chat, web search and a coding agent. At $14.99 it sits below the $17 to $20 that Claude Pro, Perplexity Pro and ChatGPT Plus charge.

It is not the cheapest paid entry on this list, since Google AI Plus and Grok Plus cost less.

For a coder weighing Claude Pro with Claude Code or ChatGPT Plus with Codex, Mistral Pro is a trade. It holds chat, web search and the Vibe agent, subject to fair usage limits, and the Enterprise card lists SAML SSO.

Pro adds more messages and web searches, more extended thinking and deep research reports, expanded Vibe capacity, and chat and email support. Free already lists 100+ connectors, up to 5 scheduled tasks and limited coding sessions, so you can try the agent first.

Team adds up to 30 GB of storage per user, domain verification and data export. SAML SSO and audit logs sit on Enterprise, and model training is opt-out on Free, Pro and Team, so a team that needs training off by default should look at Claude Team.

Mistral Pro costs $14.99 a month, excluding taxes, which is $14.99 x 12 = $179.88 a year. Team costs $24.99 per user per month, excluding taxes, and the page does not say whether Team is billed monthly or annually.

Mistral pricing page with the Free, Pro, Team and Enterprise plans
Mistral Vibe pricing page, plans and prices, mistral.ai, captured Oct 2026
PlanPriceBillingKey limit
FreeFreen/aLimited messages and coding sessions
Pro$14.99 per monthExcluding taxesFair usage limits
Pro for students$5.99 per monthUp to 12 monthsVerified students only
Team$24.99 per user per monthExcluding taxesUp to 30 GB storage per user
EnterpriseContact salesCustomCustom models and deployments

Sources: Mistral pricing, checked October 2026.

Pros

  • Pro includes full access to Vibe for all-day coding
  • Vibe coding agent in the CLI and in VS Code and JetBrains
  • Unlimited task scheduling on paid plans, subject to fair use

Cons

  • Pro and Team are subject to fair usage limits
  • Single sign-on waits for the Enterprise plan
  • Model training is opt-out on Free, Pro and Team
Skip it if:
AI inside Gmail, Docs or Outlook is the point of the purchase, because Google AI Pro lists Gemini in Gmail and Docs, and Claude Pro lists Claude’s Outlook add-in. The next pick bundles AI with a social platform.

6. Grok: Best for People Who Already Pay for X

Grok homepage, first screen
Grok homepage, first screen, grok.com, archived by the Internet Archive on Oct 16, 2026
  • Best for: people who already use and pay for X
  • Starting price: Plus at $8 per month
  • Free plan or trial: Free plan with limited chat requests
  • Integrations: X, Cursor and the Grok API (API usage billed separately)

Grok is sold as one X subscription, not as a standalone chatbot. Plus at $8 a month and Premium at $30 bundle Grok chat, Cursor and X features such as the Premium checkmark, so the AI and the social account share one bill.

Premium gives 4x Plus usage, the latest Grok models, image and video creation, and cloud agents. xAI itself recommends Premium for new AI users and Plus for social creators with limited AI usage.

Every tier draws on one AI usage pool shared across Grok and Cursor, refreshed weekly. Grok API usage is billed separately at standard model rates, and so are third-party models in Cursor. If you do not use X, part of every tier pays for social features you will not use.

Grok Plus costs $8 a month and Premium $30 a month, with taxes extra. Teams starts at $30 per user per month with pooled usage, and Enterprise is priced on request. Each tier’s usage and X perks are compared in my Grok pricing guide.

Grok pricing page with the Free, Plus, Premium and Super plans
Grok pricing page, x.ai, captured Oct 2026
PlanPriceBillingKey limit
Free$0 per monthn/aLimited chat requests
Plus$8 per monthMonthlyBasic usage
Premium$30 per monthMonthly4x Plus usage
Super$100 per monthMonthly15x Plus usage
Ultra$200 per monthMonthly50x Plus usage
Teams$30+ per user per monthMonthlyPooled usage

Sources: xAI pricing, checked October 2026.

Pros

  • Plus includes Grok API access and Cursor, though API usage is billed separately at standard model rates
  • One weekly usage pool covers Grok chat, Imagine, Voice and Cursor
  • Enterprise lists SSO, SCIM and data residency

Cons

  • Third-party models in Cursor are billed at API list prices
  • Plus, Premium, Super and Ultra each include X features
  • Usage is published as multiples of Plus, not as counts
Skip it if:
you do not use X, or you need a plan without social-network features in the bill.

Whether the bundle is worth it is covered in my Grok review. Subscriptions are flat; the next pick bills per token.

7. DeepSeek: Best for Low-Cost Reasoning via API

DeepSeek homepage, first screen
DeepSeek homepage, first screen, deepseek.com, captured Oct 2026
  • Best for: developers building on low-cost reasoning models
  • Starting price: $0.30 per 1M input tokens (deepseek-flash, cache miss, peak)
  • Free plan or trial: prepaid balance, no subscription
  • Integrations: the DeepSeek API, with base URLs in two API formats

DeepSeek’s deepseek-flash model costs $0.30 per 1M input tokens on a cache miss and $1.20 per 1M output tokens at peak, and off-peak rates are half of peak. For a builder, the price is the reason to look; the catch is everything a business plan would add.

Both models list a 1M context length, thinking mode, tool calls and JSON output, and the docs give a base URL for each of two API formats. The legacy deepseek-v4-flash names now route to DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash.

Peak hours are 01:00 to 04:00 and 06:00 to 10:00 UTC on weekdays. In Eastern Daylight Time that is 9 p.m. to midnight and 2 to 6 a.m., so a US team working daytime hours runs at off-peak rates.

The pricing docs list no team plan, admin console or SSO, and DeepSeek reserves the right to adjust prices. A company sending customer data through the API should review DeepSeek’s data terms first.

Take an illustrative job of 10M input tokens and 2M output tokens on deepseek-flash at peak. Input is 10 x $0.30 = $3.00 and output is 2 x $1.20 = $2.40. The job is $3.00 + $2.40 = $5.40 at peak, and $5.40 / 2 = $2.70 off-peak.

Fees come out of a prepaid balance.

DeepSeek API models and pricing page
DeepSeek pricing page, first screen, api-docs.deepseek.com, captured Oct 2026
Rate (per 1M tokens)Price at peakOff-peakKey limit
deepseek-flash input, cache miss$0.30$0.15Concurrency limit 2,500
deepseek-flash output$1.20$0.60Max output 384K
deepseek-v4-pro input, cache miss$1.32$0.66Concurrency limit 500
deepseek-v4-pro output$3.96$1.98No vision support

Sources: DeepSeek API pricing, checked October 2026.

Pros

  • US daytime hours fall in the off-peak window
  • 1M context length on both models
  • Tool calls and JSON output on both models

Cons

  • No team plan, admin console or SSO on the pricing docs
  • DeepSeek may adjust prices
  • deepseek-v4-pro does not support vision
Skip it if:
you need a team plan with admin controls, or a flat monthly subscription for your own chat work. DeepSeek gives one vendor’s models; the next pick reaches many vendors on one bill.

8. Poe: Best for Using Many AI Models on One Bill

Poe homepage, first screen
Poe homepage, poe.com, captured Oct 2026
  • Best for: individuals who switch between vendors’ models
  • Starting price: from $4.99 per month
  • Free plan or trial: free use, with far fewer messages than subscribers
  • Integrations: the Poe API, paid with add-on points

Poe partly replaces several $20 plans. It starts at $4.99 a month with compute points you spend across major models, $15.01 less than ChatGPT Plus at $20, and subscribers get context up to 2M tokens per bot.

Poe pricing page
Poe pricing page, poe.com, captured Oct 2026

The points are the catch. A subscription grants them daily or monthly, unused plan points do not roll over, and a heavy month on premium models means buying add-on points. Add-on points stay usable for one year and are not refundable.

A subscription can be shared through an invitation link, which suits a family or a two-person team. Every member draws equally on the same points, and the only way to limit one member is to remove them.

Poe bills its subscription monthly or annually, and add-on points start at $30 per 1M points. The help page gives only the starting price; the other tiers appear when you choose a plan under “Get more points”.

PlanPriceBillingKey limit
FreeFreen/aFar fewer messages than subscribers
SubscriptionFrom $4.99 per monthMonthly or annualUnused plan points do not roll over
Add-on pointsFrom $30 per 1M pointsOne-timeUsable for one year, not refundable

Sources: Poe purchases FAQ, checked October 2026.

Pros

  • One bill covers models from several vendors
  • A subscription can be shared by invitation
  • Add-on points last a year

Cons

  • Unused plan points do not roll over
  • A shared plan cannot cap a member’s points
  • Add-on points are not refundable
Skip it if:
you need to cap what each member of a shared plan uses, since a member’s point usage can be limited only by removing them. Every pick so far keeps your history in an account; the next one is built around private chats.

9. Duck.ai: Best for Private AI Chat

Duck.ai homepage, first screen
Duck.ai homepage, first screen, duck.ai, captured Oct 2026
  • Best for: private personal chat that is not used for training
  • Starting price: Free
  • Free plan or trial: Free; a DuckDuckGo subscription adds advanced models
  • Integrations: built into the DuckDuckGo browser; works in third-party browsers

Duck.ai keeps chats out of training at no cost. Six third-party models are free, including Claude 4.5 Haiku, Mistral Small 4 and GPT-6 Luna, and DuckDuckGo says it does not store your prompts or train on your data.

Recent chats live on your device, not on DuckDuckGo’s servers, and the Fire Button deletes them; you can pin up to 5 to keep them.

Subscribers get stronger models: Plus adds GPT-5.6 Terra and Claude Sonnet 4.6, and Pro adds Claude Opus 4.8 and GPT-5.6 Sol with 2x Plus usage. The subscription also bundles a VPN and identity theft restoration, which you pay for whether you need them or not.

Duck.ai is free; the advanced models come with a DuckDuckGo subscription, bought in the DuckDuckGo app’s settings on monthly or annual billing. It is sold as a privacy bundle, so compare it with a VPN budget rather than with a $20 AI plan.

DuckDuckGo subscription page with VPN and advanced AI
Duck.ai pricing page, first screen, duckduckgo.com, captured Oct 2026
PlanPriceBillingKey limit
FreeFreen/aSix basic models
Plus subscriptionIn the DuckDuckGo appMonthly or annualAdds GPT-5.6 Terra and Claude Sonnet 4.6
Pro subscriptionIn the DuckDuckGo appMonthly or annualAdds Claude Opus 4.8, 2x Plus usage

Sources: Duck.ai help page, DuckDuckGo subscription page, checked October 2026.

Pros

  • Recent chats stored on your device, not on DuckDuckGo’s servers
  • Chats are never used to train AI models, free or paid
  • Works in third-party browsers

Cons

  • No team plan or admin controls published
  • Stronger models need a subscription
  • The subscription bundles a VPN you may not need
Skip it if:
you need shared projects, admin controls or one bill for a team. The last pick is not a work tool at all: it serves readers who want to chat with characters.

10. Character.AI: Best for Character Roleplay Chat

Character.AI homepage, first screen
Character.AI homepage, character.ai, captured Oct 2026
  • Best for: roleplay and casual chat with user-created characters
  • Price shown: c.ai+ at $94.99 per year; lite and monthly prices not verified
  • Free plan or trial: Free plan, with full ads and slow mode
  • Integrations: count not published; official iPhone, iPad and Android apps

Character.AI is not a work assistant, and that is the reason it is here: it is the pick built for chatting with characters. The homepage offers access to 10M+ Characters.

The free tier is the roleplay engine. On September 28, 2026, Character.AI announced two free chat styles: PipSqueak 3, which it calls “a big step up for general roleplay”, and ShortSqueak for quick, casual chats.

Paying buys continuity, not a smarter work tool, so for work I would start with my best AI tools for small teams. The plan table moves memory from Basic on Free to Better on lite and Best on c.ai+, raises pins from 15 to 30, and upgrades the Lorebook to Advanced only on c.ai+. Those are the rows that keep a long-running story consistent.

c.ai+ also removes ads and slow mode and carries the highest feature limits. For writing better characters, the help center has a Guides category on crafting personas and scenes.

Two rules shape who can use it. The Terms of Service bar anyone under 13, or under 16 in the EEA and UK, and they prohibit content that is obscene or pornographic, so “no filter” roleplay apps sit outside this list.

Data handling is the other trade-off. The privacy policy, effective July 1, 2026, lists chat communications among the content it collects and model training among its uses. Anyone who wants chats kept out of training is better served by Duck.ai.

Before you prepay a year

On October 12, 2026, Character.AI said it had “initiated a voluntary Chapter 11 bankruptcy process to facilitate a court-supervised sale of the company.”

Its Terms make payments non-refundable, except where required by law, and c.ai+ is shown as a yearly subscription that auto-renews. Weigh both before paying for a year up front.

Character.AI c.ai+ costs $94.99 per year, shown against a crossed-out $119.88 with “save 21%”, a difference of $119.88 – $94.99 = $24.89. The Terms promise at least 30 days’ notice of a price increase, and a subscription bought in a mobile app store is cancelled, and a refund requested, through that app store.

Character.AI subscription page with the Free, lite and c.ai+ plan table and c.ai+ at $94.99 per year
Character.AI pricing page, plans and prices, character.ai, captured Oct 2026
PlanPriceBillingKey limit
FreeFreen/aFull ads, slow mode, 15 pins
liteNot verifiedNot verifiedLess ads, Better memory, 30 pins
c.ai+$94.99 per yearYearly, auto-renewsNon-refundable except where required by law

Sources: Character.AI subscription page, Character.AI Terms of Service, checked October 2026.

Pros

  • PipSqueak 3 and ShortSqueak chat styles are free
  • c.ai+ lists Best memory, 30 pins and an Advanced Lorebook for long stories
  • No ads and no slow mode on c.ai+
  • Official apps for iPhone, iPad and Android

Cons

  • No team or business plan on the plan page
  • The privacy policy lists model training among the uses of collected content
  • Payments are non-refundable, except where required by law
  • A Chapter 11 sale process was announced on October 12, 2026
Skip it if:
you need a work assistant, since the plan page lists only Free, lite and c.ai+, with no team plan. Also skip it if you want your chats kept out of model training, or you are not ready to prepay a year to a company in a court-supervised sale process.

Character.AI has no team plan, so the cost question below covers the work picks only.

What a 10-Person Team Pays per Year

Ten seats cost $1,680 a year on Google Workspace Business Standard at the $14 list price ($14 x 10 x 12), and $2,400 on Claude Team at $20 x 10 seats x 12 months, billed annually. Mistral Team costs $24.99 x 10 x 12 = $2,998.80, and Perplexity Enterprise Pro costs $34 x 10 x 12 = $4,080.

ProductTeam planPrice per seatBillingYear total for 10 usersNot included
Google WorkspaceBusiness Standard$14 per user per month on a 1-year commitment ($8.40 intro for 12 months)Billed monthly$14 x 10 x 12 = $1,680Paid Enhanced Support upgrade
ClaudeTeam, standard seat$20 per seat per monthAnnual$20 x 10 x 12 = $2,400Premium seats, tax
Mistral VibeTeam$24.99 per user per monthPeriod not stated; excluding taxes$24.99 x 10 x 12 = $2,998.80Taxes
GrokTeamsFrom $30 per user per monthMonthly$30 x 10 x 12 = from $3,600Third-party models in Cursor, Grok API usage, taxes
PerplexityEnterprise Pro$34 per seat per monthAnnual$34 x 10 x 12 = $4,080Enterprise Max seats
What 10 seats cost for one year on each team plan, list prices checked October 2026 (USD)

Sources: Google Workspace pricing, Claude pricing, Mistral pricing, xAI pricing, Perplexity Enterprise pricing, checked October 2026.

The cheapest line is not the cheapest decision. Workspace Business Standard buys the whole office suite with Gemini inside, and new customers pay $8.40 x 10 x 12 = $1,008 in year one. A team that does not want to move its email to Google pays for a suite it will not use.

Billing basis moves the total too. Claude Team billed monthly costs $25 x 10 x 12 = $3,000, $600 more than annual. Grok Teams is priced from $30 per user, so its $3,600 is a floor, not a quote.

ChatGPT Business is not in the table: it is sold per user per month from 2 users, with no seat price in the pricing page’s text. DeepSeek, Duck.ai and Character.AI publish no per-seat team plan, and Poe’s help page describes a shared subscription with invited members instead.

Microsoft 365 Copilot’s per-user price sits under Also Considered, because it needs a Microsoft 365 license first. The next question is which plan holds the feature your job needs.

How to Choose an AI Chatbot

Decide in this order: whether the job is work or personal character chat, then where your files live (Google, Microsoft or neither), then your main job, then your data rules.

The suite question removes the most work options, because Gemini earns its price inside Google’s apps and Claude Pro reaches into Microsoft 365. In my view it also decides most of the productivity gain, since an assistant inside your email and documents saves copying text between windows. For a team choosing between ChatGPT and Claude, the ChatGPT vs Claude for business comparison is the natural next step.

  1. Character roleplay, not work: Character.AI, on its Free plan first; c.ai+ only after reading the Chapter 11 note in its section.
  2. Gmail and Google apps: Gemini, in Gmail on Google AI Plus for one person, or in Gmail, Docs and Meet on Business Standard for a team.
  3. Office apps and Outlook: Claude Pro for Claude’s Office and Outlook add-ins (Claude Team for a company), or ChatGPT Plus for its Excel, Word and PowerPoint extensions.
  4. Neither suite: ChatGPT Plus for varied work, Claude Pro for long documents and code, Perplexity Pro for cited research.
  5. No training by default: Claude Team, Perplexity Enterprise Pro, or Duck.ai for personal questions.
  6. A narrower job: Mistral Pro for chat plus all-day coding, Grok if you pay for X, Poe for many models on one bill, or DeepSeek per token if you are building.
FeatureChatGPTClaudeGeminiPerplexityCharacter.AI
Free planFreeFreeFreeFreeFree
Deep research / ResearchPlus (limited below)ProFreeProNot listed
Coding agentPlus (Codex limited below)Pro (Claude Code)Google AI Pro (Jules)Not listedNot listed
Works inside Google appsPlus (Sheets extension)Not listedGoogle AI PlusNot listedNot listed
Works inside Office appsPlus (Word, Excel and PowerPoint extensions)ProNot listedNot listedNot listed
Choice of other vendors’ modelsNot listedNot listedNot listedProNot listed
Character and roleplay chatNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedFree (PipSqueak 3)
Team plan with SSONot listedTeamNot listedEnterprise ProNot listed
No training on your data by defaultNot listed (opt-out)TeamNot listedEnterprise ProNot listed (policy lists training)
Monthly billing availableGo, Plus, Pro, BusinessPro, Max, TeamPer-month price shown; billing period not statedNot stated; prices shown billed annuallyMonthly toggle shown; price not verified
Which plan first lists each feature: the top four picks and Character.AI, checked October 2026

Sources: ChatGPT pricing, Claude pricing, Google AI plans, Google Workspace pricing, Perplexity Pro, Perplexity Enterprise pricing, Character.AI subscription page, checked October 2026.

No single pick wins every row. ChatGPT reaches into both office suites from one plan, Claude Team and Perplexity Enterprise Pro list both SSO and no training by default, and Character.AI’s column shows its trade: character chat on Free, and no work feature listed.

Shortlists by Team and Job

When your need is narrower than a general assistant, a focused list saves time:

Also Considered

These were considered and left out:

  • Microsoft 365 Copilot: Microsoft Copilot works in Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and Teams, but needs a separate license for a qualifying Microsoft 365 plan, for up to 300 users.
  • Copilot Business price: the add-on costs $18 per user per month paid yearly, a first-year promotion down from $21 for purchases from July 1 to December 31, 2026; Business Standard with Copilot costs $23.50.
  • Meta AI: meta.ai pitches it for images, shopping and answers, including AI-generated images for free; in my view a consumer assistant rather than a work plan to pay for.
  • Jasper: a marketing content platform, with Pro at $59 a month billed yearly and a 7-day trial; built for brand campaigns, not general work.
  • Chatbase: sells AI agents you deploy, from $32 a month billed yearly for 700 message credits; a tool for building a bot, not an assistant for your own work.
  • Intercom Fin, Zendesk AI agents, Tidio Lyro and Botpress: customer-service agents that answer your customers, which belong on the customer-service shortlist above.

A Microsoft 365 company can start with Copilot Chat, which Microsoft includes at no additional cost for Microsoft Entra users with an eligible Microsoft 365 subscription. The suite it sits in is covered in my Microsoft Teams review.

Sources: Microsoft 365 Copilot for business, Meta AI, Jasper pricing, Chatbase pricing, checked October 2026.

FAQ

Is ChatGPT still the best AI chatbot?

For varied work, yes: ChatGPT Plus covers research, code, images and the Office and Google Sheets extensions in one plan. It is not the best value for every job, since Claude Pro is cheaper per year on annual billing and Perplexity cites sources on every answer. Pick by your main job, not by brand.

What are the top 3 AI chatbots?

ChatGPT, Claude and Google Gemini, each for a different buyer: mixed work, writing and code, and people who live in Gmail and Docs. Perplexity is the fourth pick for cited research, and a top 5 adds Mistral Vibe, whose Pro plan pairs chat with a coding agent.

What is the best free AI chatbot?

For research on a $0 budget, Gemini’s free plan lists Deep Research, Canvas and Gemini Live. For privacy, Duck.ai gives six models free and stores recent chats on your device. For character roleplay, Character.AI’s Free plan includes the PipSqueak 3 chat style, with ads and slow mode.

Do AI chatbots train on my data?

On personal plans, often yes unless you opt out: ChatGPT, Claude and Mistral list training as opt-out. Character.AI’s policy counts chats as collected content and names model training as a use. Claude Team and Perplexity Enterprise Pro do not train on your content by default, and Duck.ai never uses chats for training.

Final Verdict

Buy ChatGPT Plus if your work changes shape every week; it covers research, code, images and both office suites in one plan. Buy Claude Pro on annual billing if your month is long documents or code, since it costs $40 a year less than Plus and includes Claude Code.

For a company on Office apps and Outlook, buy Claude Team, which lists Claude’s Office and Outlook add-ins, SSO and no model training on your content by default.

Buy Google AI Plus if you live in Gmail, or Business Standard for a Google team. Buy Perplexity Pro if your answers must survive a source check, and run it beside a general assistant.

For chat and an all-day coding agent in one subscription, Mistral Pro covers both for less than Plus, and Poe spreads one bill across several vendors’ models. For special needs, pick Grok if you pay for X anyway, DeepSeek if you build on an API, and Duck.ai for private questions.

If you want roleplay with characters rather than a work assistant, Character.AI is the pick, on its Free plan first. Its October 12, 2026 Chapter 11 sale process and non-refundable payments make the $94.99 yearly c.ai+ plan a last step, not a first one.

Before anyone signs, price the team plan on its own billing basis and list what it leaves out; the personal price says little about the team bill.

About the author

Macedona is the founder and lead reviewer at SaaS CRM Review, where he has published 250+ in-depth reviews, pricing guides, and comparisons of CRM and SaaS tools. Each review is based on hands-on testing or verified documentation, and every article states clearly which method was used. Pricing and features are checked against official vendor sources, with the verification date noted in the article.

Follow the author:
Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *