12 Best Help Center Software for Customer Self-Service in 2026

Editorial. We review software independently. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission, which funds the testing. See our review methodology and affiliate disclosure.

Most help center shortlists compare the wrong number. They line up monthly prices from products that bill authors against products that bill support agents, then rank them as if those units meant the same thing.

In This Article (20 sections)

They do not. A help center usually has two or three writers and tens of thousands of readers. A product that charges per agent prices that shape badly, and a product that charges per author with unlimited readers prices it well.

This ranking covers twelve platforms that can actually publish a portal your customers reach. It sorts them by the question that decides most budgets: can you buy the help center on its own, or does it arrive attached to a ticketing engine you also have to pay for.

If you are not sure yet whether you need a customer help center, an internal wiki, or a developer documentation portal, start with the wider knowledge base software comparison instead. It sorts the whole category before it ranks anything.

Start Here: Pick by Who Reads Your Articles

Who reads the articlesWhat you are buyingWhere to look
Customers, and you do not need ticketingA standalone help centerGroup A below: KnowledgeOwl, Helpjuice, ProProfs, Document360
Customers, and you already need ticketingA support suite that contains a help centerGroup C below, and the help desk software comparison
People using your product, with versions and an APIA documentation portalGroup B below: Archbee, ClickHelp, GitBook
Your own staffAn internal wiki, not a help centerThe wiki software comparison

Four of the twelve platforms here rank in the top five for a reason that has nothing to do with features. They publish a price that does not move when readership grows.

Who This Guide Is For, and Who Should Read Something Else

This guide is for the person who already knows the audience is external. You have repeat questions arriving by email or chat, and you want them answered by an article instead of a person.

It is not a ticketing comparison. Five of the twelve products here sell ticketing, and this article treats that as something you are also buying rather than as a point in their favour. If routing, SLAs, and agent workload are the decision, the help desk comparison is the better page.

It is also not an internal knowledge base guide. Six products that rank well on the main knowledge base pillar do not appear here at all, because they cannot publish a portal to customers. Slite, Slab, and Tettra have no public help center. Confluence is internal first. Guru and Bloomfire are not public documentation portals.

Notion and Nuclino can publish public pages, and they still do not qualify. Publishing a page is not the same as running a help center with branding, search tuning, reader permissions, and article governance.

How We Evaluated These 12 Platforms

This ranking is built from official pricing pages, vendor help documentation, and product pages. It is not a hands-on test. Nobody here signed up, imported a library, or measured search results inside each product.

What it does instead is read the pricing and plan documentation the way a buyer reads a contract: what changes when readers grow, when a second language arrives, when legal asks for a private section, and when the brand team asks why the help center is on somebody else's domain.

Platforms were assessed against ten criteria, weighted toward the ones that move an invoice:

  1. Whether the help center can be bought without a ticketing engine
  2. The billing unit: authors, agents, seats, sites, or readers
  3. Public, private, and mixed-audience support
  4. Branding and custom domain control
  5. Multilingual cost, and whether it recurs
  6. Multi-portal and multi-brand economics
  7. The content ceiling on the first paid tier
  8. Article analytics and feedback retention
  9. Reader permission granularity
  10. Authoring workflow, review state, and versioning

Ticketing, SLAs, routing, channel coverage, and AI resolution pricing were deliberately excluded from the ranking. For the five bundle products they are recorded as what else you are paying for, not as a strength.

Where a vendor does not publish a number, this article says so rather than estimating one.

The 12 Platforms Side by Side

Evidence source: each vendor's official pricing and product pages, checked September 20, 2026. Region: US.

#ProductGroupBuy the KB alone?Billing unitEntry pricePublic siteContent ceiling on first paid tier
1KnowledgeOwlAYesPer author, unlimited readers$100/moYesNot publicly stated
2HelpjuiceAYesFlat plan, 30 users$249/moYesNot publicly stated
3ProProfs Knowledge BaseAYesPer author, external plans$49/author/mo, annual onlyYes300 pages, 1 site
4Document360AYesCustom quoteCustomYesNot publicly stated
5ArchbeeBYesFlat plan$80/moPublic and private portalsUnlimited spaces
6ClickHelpBYesFlat portal, 2 contributorsNot read on this passYes500 topics, 5GB
7GitBookBYesPer site plus per user$0 for 1 site, 1 userYesPriced per site
8ZendeskCNoPer agent$55/agent/mo on Suite TeamYesNot publicly stated
9FreshdeskCNoPer agent$19/agent/mo on GrowthYesNot publicly stated
10IntercomCNoPer seat plus per AI outcome$19/seat/mo on EssentialYes on EssentialNot publicly stated
11Help ScoutCNoPer user$0 for 5 usersYes, Docs sitesNot publicly stated
12Zoho DeskCNoPer agent$14/agent/mo on StandardYesNot publicly stated

All prices are per month on annual billing unless noted, verified on each vendor's official pricing page on September 20, 2026.

Read that table by the "buy the KB alone" column first. It splits the list into two purchases that are not comparable, and it does more to narrow a shortlist than any feature row.

Standalone Help Center Platforms

These four sell a knowledge base. Remove the publishing and there is no product left, which is why their pricing tracks authors and articles rather than agents and tickets.

1. KnowledgeOwl: Best Reader Economics for a Public Help Center

KnowledgeOwl takes the top position here on billing shape, not on feature count. It charges per author and includes unlimited readers, published at $100 per month.

That single decision changes the arithmetic of a public help center. A support site with three writers and fifty thousand monthly readers pays for three writers. Every per-agent product in Group C prices the same site by how many people answer tickets, which is a number that has nothing to do with how many people read.

The published add-on prices are unusually legible for this category. An extra author is $25 per month, and an extra knowledge base is $50 per month, which makes a second brand or a second product line a line item you can calculate rather than a quote you have to request.

Reader permissions are the second reason it ranks first for regulated and mixed audiences. The feature list names unlimited reader groups, so a members-only section and a public section can live in one knowledge base. Article statuses run from draft through needs review and archived, and versioning and history are listed as standard rather than as an upgrade.

Two things to settle with the vendor before signing. The pricing page does not state an article limit or an analytics retention window on any plan, so ask for both in writing. And KnowledgeOwl describes its $250 Pro plan as the one to "build a professional, branded help center with API access", which suggests branding depth and the API sit above Basic. Confirm which tier carries the custom domain you plan to use.

The structural limitation is the one no plan fixes: there is no ticketing. A failed search ends at a dead end unless you connect something else.

2. Helpjuice: Best Flat Price When the Library Is Multilingual

Helpjuice is a flat plan: $249 per month covering 30 users, or $449 per month covering 100 users. Flat pricing removes the per-reader question entirely, which is the point.

The user count is what separates it from everything else in Group A. Thirty people can log in and edit on the entry plan. KnowledgeOwl at $100 covers one author and charges $25 for each additional one, so a ten-author team lands at $325 there against $249 here.

Localization and AI article translation are listed as included on both published tiers, with translation into more than forty languages. Note what that does not tell you: the pricing page does not publish a usage meter for translation, so confirm whether a large library is covered by the plan or metered separately.

The $249 plan does not include the AI suite. The $449 plan adds it at no extra cost along with SSO and a 100-user allowance, so budget from $449 if AI authoring or SSO is a requirement rather than a preference.

The honest limitation is structural: a 40-agent support team that buys Helpjuice has a strong help center and no way to turn a failed search into a ticket. If that handoff is the workflow you are trying to fix, you are shopping in Group C.

3. ProProfs Knowledge Base: Cheapest Real Entry, With Two Ceilings to Watch

ProProfs prices external and internal knowledge bases separately, and reading the wrong column is the most common mistake buyers make with this product.

The figure that circulates in comparison articles is $0.99 per user per month. That is the internal plan. The customer-facing product is priced per author: Essentials at $49, Business at $69, and Business Complete Elite at $79, each per author per month on annual billing only. Essentials bills at $588 for the year.

At one or two authors that is the cheapest genuine standalone help center on this page. At ten authors it is $490 per month, which is twice Helpjuice's flat $249 for thirty users, so the advantage inverts as the writing team grows.

Two ceilings decide whether the entry plan works. Essentials covers one site and 300 pages. Business at $69 raises that to three sites and 500 pages.

The third number belongs in the budget from day one: a custom domain and white labeling, which is what removes the "Powered by ProProfs" line, is a separate $300 per year.

A free plan covers one author and 25 pages, which is a pilot rather than a launch. AI writing, AI search, AI translation, and revision history are listed on Essentials.

4. Document360: Best When One Platform Must Serve Staff and Customers

Document360 runs governed internal and external documentation from one platform, which is why it takes first place on the main knowledge base pillar. It places fourth here for one reason: there is no public entry price at all.

The vendor states what drives the quote, which is more than most quote-only products do. In its own words, six things: "Team accounts (editors and reviewers), workspaces, languages, SSO and security needs, knowledge base privacy model (public, private, or mixed), and AI Premium Suite usage."

That is unusually honest about cost drivers and unusually hard to budget before the first sales call. Workspaces sit inside the quote, so multi-brand and multi-product portals are a commercial conversation rather than a published add-on. So do SSO and SCIM.

Migration is the line item most teams miss. A large legacy help center can be scoped and priced separately from the subscription, so the first-year total is rarely the annual figure alone.

Choose it when governance is the requirement and a procurement cycle is acceptable. Skip it when you need to put a number in a budget this week.

Documentation Portals Built for External Readers

These three publish to people outside the company, and that is where the resemblance to Group A ends. Their readers are using a product, not asking for support, so the feature that matters is version control rather than ticket handoff.

Developer documentation is not a longer support article. It has version branches, code samples, an API reference, and a release cadence tied to engineering.

5. Archbee: Cheapest Way to Run Several Portals at Once

Archbee is a flat plan starting at $80 per month, with public and private portals, unlimited readers, and unlimited spaces.

That combination is the outlier in this ranking. Unlimited spaces plus unlimited readers on a flat plan makes it the cheapest way to run four product portals, and the only one here where adding a fifth portal does not add a line to the invoice.

The caveat is the tier. Localization and versioning sit on the $350 Scaling plan, and versioning is the thing a documentation portal needs most. Budget for $350 rather than $80 if you ship releases.

SSO requires Enterprise. Analytics are not published.

Choose it when one portal has to serve public docs, private partner docs, and internal spaces at the same time.

6. ClickHelp: Best When a Named Writer Owns the Portal

ClickHelp is a technical-authoring environment rather than a wiki with a public theme, and the plan structure reflects that. It sells portals with contributors included rather than seats: 2 contributors, 500 topics, and 5GB of storage on the entry plan, rising to 5 contributors and 15GB, then 10 contributors and 30GB.

Permission management is included rather than gated, which is useful if a portal serves several reader audiences.

The add-ons are where the budget actually moves, and they are published clearly. The REST API and MCP add-on is $132 per month. A security add-on is $205 per month. A sandbox portal is $99 per month, and there is a high-volume API tier above the base one.

Read those numbers next to the plan price before comparing ClickHelp to anything else. An authoring portal plus API access plus security can cost more in add-ons than some Group A platforms cost in total.

Choose it when there is a named technical writer, a formal review workflow, and a controlled multilingual portal. Skip it when two people write occasionally.

7. GitBook: Best When Docs Ship From the Repository

GitBook is the pick when documentation ships with a code release from the same repository. Git history lives in your repo rather than in the vendor's version log.

The pricing has two parts, and that is the detail that breaks spreadsheets. There is a site fee and a seat fee, so a ten-person team on Premium pays $65 plus $120, a monthly equivalent of $185 under annual billing.

The free plan covers one site and one user, which is enough to publish a small public portal and not enough to run one with a team.

Premium is where a custom domain, analytics, and user feedback appear. The gate above that is the one to check before committing: authenticated access needs Ultimate at $249 per site. If any part of your documentation is for logged-in customers or partners, that is your real starting price, not the free tier.

Read-only access inside the app is not free either, which makes a large internal audience expensive in a product otherwise optimized for public readers.

Help Desks That Ship a Help Center

These five do not sell a knowledge base. They sell a support platform that contains one, and you cannot buy the half you want.

That is not a criticism. It is a different purchase, and for a team that already needs ticketing it is usually the better one. It is only a mistake when the knowledge base is the actual requirement and the ticketing engine is dead weight on the invoice.

8. Zendesk: Best Help Center Inside a Full Support Suite

The knowledge base comes with the Suite. Zendesk lists a $19 per agent entry, but the knowledge base appears from Suite Team at $55 per agent per month on annual billing, which is the number to plan around. Suite Professional is $115.

What you are also buying: ticketing, messaging, voice, routing, and AI agents.

Public and private reader access are both supported. Multi-brand capability sits in the suite tiers and should be verified on the pricing page rather than assumed. SSO is Enterprise.

At $55 per agent, a team of three writers and no agents is paying $165 per month for a help center plus a ticketing system nobody opens. A team of thirty agents is paying for a platform it uses every hour. The same price is either the worst or the best value on this page depending entirely on whether you needed the other half.

9. Freshdesk: Cheapest Route Into a Bundled Help Center

Freshdesk lists "Customer portal & knowledge base" on Growth at $19 per agent per month on annual billing, which is the lowest published bundle entry that names the help center explicitly. Pro is $55 and Enterprise is $89 per agent.

A free plan exists, and Freddy AI Agent includes the first 500 sessions, with additional sessions at $49 per 100. That usage line is the one to model, because it scales with deflected conversations rather than with agents.

If portal branding depth matters, confirm which edition carries the customization you need before committing to Growth. The pricing page names the customer portal on more than one edition without detailing what differs.

What you are also buying: ticketing, workflows, and reports.

10. Intercom: Most Expensive Path to a Private Help Center

Intercom publishes Essential at $19 per seat per month on annual billing, and a public help center is included there.

A private help center is not. Private and multilingual help centers sit on Advanced, which is $85 per seat per month on annual billing, or $99 per seat on monthly billing. If your help center needs logged-in readers, $85 per seat is your real starting price, not $19.

That gap is the largest single jump in this comparison. A five-person team needing gated content pays $425 per month here before any AI usage, against $100 at KnowledgeOwl with unlimited private readers included.

Expert is $132 per seat per month on annual billing.

The billing unit deserves a second look before signing. Intercom charges per seat and separately $0.99 per Fin AI Agent outcome, so the invoice carries a usage component that a help center alone would never generate.

What you are also buying: Messenger, inbox, tickets, and Fin.

11. Help Scout: Best Free Starting Point for a Small Docs Site

Help Scout is free for five users, one Inbox, and one Docs site. That makes it the cheapest way on this page to put a real help center in front of customers.

Paid plans run $25, $45, and $75 per user per month. AI Answers is billed separately at $0.75 per resolution, which is the usage line to model before committing.

The free plan's limits are stated in users, inboxes, and Docs sites rather than in articles. If an article ceiling matters to you, ask the vendor directly, because the pricing page does not publish one.

Private Docs needs API work rather than a setting, which is a meaningful engineering dependency if gated content is a requirement rather than a preference.

What you are also buying: a shared inbox, live chat, and Beacon.

12. Zoho Desk: Cheapest Paid Bundle, If You Check Your Region's Price

Zoho Desk publishes a free edition and a Standard plan at $14 per user per month on annual billing, the cheapest paid bundle entry in this group. The knowledge base is included from Standard.

It also publishes the two help center gates more clearly than anyone else on this page. A multilingual help center sits on Professional at $23 per user. A multi-brand help center sits on Enterprise at $40 per user.

Compare those against Group A before dismissing them. A three-agent team needing a multilingual help center pays $69 per month here, against $249 at Helpjuice. The trade is that you are buying a help desk, and that you cannot take the help center without it.

One warning that applies to the price itself: Zoho localizes pricing by visitor region, so the number you see may not be the number a colleague in another country sees. Confirm in your own billing region before building a business case.

What you are also buying: ticketing, a customer portal, and the Zoho integration surface.

Can You Buy the Help Center Without the Ticketing Engine?

Run the test in one line. If you removed the ticketing engine tomorrow, would the purchase still make sense?

If yes, buy a standalone documentation platform and stop paying an agent licence for a writer.

If no, the bundle is fair value, and you should be comparing those five against the wider help desk software market rather than against the standalone platforms on this page.

ProductBuy the KB aloneLowest plan with a usable help centerWhat else you are buying
ZendeskNoSuite Team at $55 per agentTicketing, messaging, voice, routing, AI
FreshdeskNoGrowth at $19 per agentTicketing, workflows, reports
Help ScoutNoFree, then Standard at $25 per userShared inbox, live chat, Beacon
IntercomNoEssential at $19 per seat promotionalMessenger, inbox, tickets, Fin
Zoho DeskNoStandard at about $14 per agentTicketing, portal, Zoho integrations

The reverse mistake costs just as much. A 40-agent support team that buys a standalone platform gets a strong help center and no way to turn a failed search into a ticket, which is the workflow that actually closes the knowledge gap.

Public, Private, and Mixed-Audience Portals

Access control is architecture, not a checkbox. Deciding who reads what determines the plan you buy more often than any feature does.

ProductPublic sitePrivate or authenticated readersPrice of the gate
KnowledgeOwlYesUnlimited private and public readers, unlimited reader groupsIncluded from $100
HelpjuiceYesInternal knowledge base includedIncluded from $249
ProProfsYesPrivate sites listedIncluded
Document360YesPublic, private, or mixed, and it is a quote inputQuote
ArchbeePublic and private portalsUnlimited readersIncluded from $80
ClickHelpYesPermission management includedIncluded
GitBookYesAuthenticated access on Ultimate$249 per site
ZendeskYesYesSuite Team $55 per agent
FreshdeskYesYesGrowth $19 per agent
IntercomYes on EssentialPrivate help center on Advanced$85 per seat
Help ScoutYes, Docs sitesPrivate Docs needs API workEngineering time
Zoho DeskYesYesStandard $14 per user

Three entries in that table are cost decisions disguised as feature rows. GitBook puts authenticated access on Ultimate at $249 per site. Intercom puts the private help center on Advanced at $85 per seat, more than four times its $19 entry. Help Scout's is not a price at all but an engineering dependency, which is harder to schedule than it is to pay for.

If the answer to "who reads this" turns out to be "our own staff", this is the wrong page. The wiki software comparison covers internal knowledge for teams.

Who Pays: Authors, Agents, or Readers

This is the single largest source of invoice surprise in this category, and it is the reason a help center and a help desk should be priced separately even when they come from the same vendor.

Four billing units appear on this page:

Per author, unlimited readers. KnowledgeOwl at $100 per month for one author, then $25 each. ProProfs at $49 per author. The invoice tracks writers. It does not move when traffic grows.

Flat plan. Helpjuice at $249 for 30 users, Archbee at $80 with unlimited readers, ClickHelp by portal with contributors included. Predictable, and usually the cheapest shape once a library is real and several people write.

Per site plus per seat. GitBook. Two variables, which is why it is the hardest to model. A ten-person team on Premium works out at $185 per month under annual billing.

Per agent or per seat. All five Group C products. The invoice tracks people who answer tickets, which is not the same population as people who write articles.

Model your own case before choosing. Take the number of people who will write, the number of people who will answer tickets, and the number of people who will read, then price each shortlisted product against all three. The ranking on this page will usually reorder itself around your specific ratio, and it should.

What Happens When Search Fails

Every platform here has search. The difference is what the reader can do in the moment it returns nothing useful.

In a bundled product, a failed search can become a ticket in the same interface. That path is the main structural argument for Group C, and it is worth more than most feature comparisons admit.

In a standalone product, the reader leaves. Unless you wire a contact route into the portal yourself, a failed search ends the session.

This ranking does not score search quality, because no independent benchmark exists for these products and none of them were tested hands-on here. Treat search as something to test in a trial rather than something to read about, and test it the right way: import 30 real articles including your ugliest one, then search for five things using the words a customer would use rather than the words you used in the title.

Branding and Whose Domain the Help Center Lives On

A help center on a vendor subdomain is a brand decision and an SEO decision at the same time. Links earned by that portal accrue to a hostname you do not own.

Three vendors publish this clearly, and the answers are very different.

ProProfs charges $300 per year for a custom domain and white labeling, and says plainly what that buys: it removes the "Powered by ProProfs" line. It is the only vendor here that prices de-branding as a separate item.

GitBook puts the custom domain on Premium at $65 per site, alongside analytics and user feedback. The free plan publishes on GitBook's own hostname.

KnowledgeOwl lists a custom domain and full branding control with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, and describes its $250 Pro plan as the one for a "professional, branded help center with API access". Confirm which tier carries the domain before assuming Basic does.

For the rest of this list, custom domain tiers are not stated plainly enough on the pricing pages to report here. Ask every shortlisted vendor three questions before signing:

  1. Which plan includes a custom domain, not just custom colors?
  2. Can we control the head of the page, including canonical tags and verification meta?
  3. If we leave, what happens to the URLs?

What a Second Language Costs Every Time You Ship

Language support is sold as a feature and delivered three different ways, and none of the twelve vendors here currently publishes a per-word or per-character rate you can multiply.

What they publish instead is a tier gate, and the cheapest published one is not where most buyers would look:

ProductWhere multilingual sitsPublished price
Zoho DeskMultilingual help center on Professional$23 per agent per month
ArchbeeLocalization on the Scaling plan$350 per month flat
HelpjuiceLocalization and AI translation on both tiers$249 per month flat
ProProfsAI translation from Essentials$49 per author per month
IntercomPrivate and multilingual Help Center on Advanced$85 per seat per month
Document360Languages are one of six quote inputsQuote
ClickHelpControlled multilingual portal in the authoring workflowSee add-ons

Zoho Desk at $23 per agent looks cheap until you count agents. Archbee at $350 flat looks expensive until you have four portals and unlimited readers. The unit decides the answer, not the number.

Ask for the unit, not the feature. "Multilingual support" on a feature page can mean a tier gate, a quote input, or a metered service, and those are three different budgets. Ask specifically whether re-translating an edited article costs anything, because the answer is what turns translation from a launch cost into a maintenance cost.

Running More Than One Portal

One brand is the assumption behind almost every entry plan in this category. Agencies, holding companies, and SaaS portfolios pay for that assumption.

ProductMulti-brand or multi-sitePublished cost of portal two
ArchbeeUnlimited project spaces$0
KnowledgeOwlExtra knowledge bases priced per unit$50 per month
ProProfs1 site on Essentials, 3 on Business$69 per author per month
GitBookPriced per site$65 per site on Premium
Zoho DeskMulti-brand help center on Enterprise$40 per user per month
IntercomMultibrand on Expert$132 per seat per month
ClickHelpPortal-based plans, more sites on higher tiersTier upgrade
Help ScoutMultiple Docs sites by planVerify per plan
ZendeskSuite tiers, verify on the pricing pageVerify per plan
FreshdeskVerify which edition carries extra portalsVerify per plan
Document360Workspaces in the quoteQuote
HelpjuiceVerify per planVerify per plan

Archbee and KnowledgeOwl are the two with a published answer that does not require a sales call. Archbee absorbs extra portals into a flat plan, which is why a four-portal setup costs the same as one. KnowledgeOwl charges a known $50 per extra knowledge base, which at least lets you calculate that setup in advance.

The bundles reveal their shape here more than anywhere else. Adding a second brand at Intercom means moving every seat to Expert, not paying for one more portal.

Article Feedback and Deflection Reporting

A help center without a feedback loop becomes a search problem in month three and an abandoned project in month nine.

Analytics retention is the specific number to ask for, and not one of the twelve publishes it on its pricing page. That absence is itself the finding: if your content review runs quarterly, a 45-day history window is shorter than your review cycle, and you will not discover that from any pricing page.

What is published: KnowledgeOwl lists article rating and commenting plus its own reporting layer, GitBook puts analytics and user feedback on Premium, ProProfs includes search analytics from Essentials, and ClickHelp includes reports. Retention windows for all of them need to be confirmed with the vendor.

Three questions worth asking every vendor:

  1. How long is analytics history retained, by plan?
  2. Can we see the searches that returned nothing?
  3. Can a reader rate an article, and does that rating reach a named owner?

The third question separates a reporting feature from a workflow. A rating that lands in a dashboard nobody owns changes nothing.

Whether a Public Help Center Can Rank

A public help center competes in search whether you planned for it or not. Customers search for their problem, not for your brand, and the article that answers it is either indexable or invisible.

This article does not score SEO capability per product, because the evidence behind it does not cover robots control, canonical handling, sitemap generation, or head customization for these twelve platforms. That gap is worth closing during a trial, not guessing at.

What to verify before committing:

  1. Does the portal generate a sitemap, and can you submit it?
  2. Can you set canonical tags, especially if the same article exists in a second language?
  3. Can you edit the head of the page for verification and structured data?
  4. Is the portal server rendered, or does it need JavaScript to show article text?
  5. Can you control indexing per article or per section?

Point four decides the others. A portal that renders articles only after JavaScript runs is a portal whose content may never be read by the crawlers that matter.

Who Writes, Who Approves, and What Version Readers See

Governance is the feature that decides whether a help center survives its second year.

KnowledgeOwl includes versioning and review statuses rather than gating them, which is the most complete published answer in this group. ClickHelp builds versioning into the authoring workflow, which is what a technical writing team expects. Archbee requires the $350 Scaling tier for version links, so version control is a tier decision there rather than a default.

GitBook takes a different approach entirely: Git history lives in your repository, so the version record is the same one engineering already uses.

For Helpjuice, Document360, ProProfs, and the five bundle products, approval routing and version behaviour vary by plan and should be confirmed with the vendor.

The organizational question matters more than the feature. Decide who owns each article and when it gets reviewed before you decide which product enforces it. A platform with review states and no named owners produces the same stale library as a platform with neither.

Seven Questions That Narrow This to Two

Work through these in order. The first two remove more candidates than any feature comparison.

1. Who reads the articles? Customers points to this page. Staff points to wiki software. Product users with versions and an API points to Group B.

2. Do you also need ticketing? Yes points to Group C and to the help desk comparison. No points to Group A, and saves an agent licence for every writer.

3. Which humans trigger a paid licence? Authors, agents, seats, or sites. Price your real headcount against all three ratios, not against the entry price.

4. Does any content need to be gated? If yes, the gate sets your floor. GitBook Ultimate at $249 per site, Intercom Advanced at $85 per seat, Help Scout's API work. At KnowledgeOwl and Archbee it is included.

5. How many portals, and how many languages? Both are published add-ons at some vendors and quote inputs at others. Archbee, KnowledgeOwl, GitBook, and Zoho Desk publish a number; Document360 and Helpjuice require a conversation.

6. What is the content ceiling on the plan you are actually buying? ProProfs Essentials stops at 300 pages and one site. ClickHelp's entry portal stops at 500 topics. Most others do not publish a ceiling at all, which means you have to ask.

7. Who owns an article in twelve months? Every platform here degrades without a named owner, and the ones with review states make that failure visible sooner.

Final Verdict: Which Help Center Fits Which Team

KnowledgeOwl takes first place for the most common shape of this purchase: a small writing team and a large reading audience. Unlimited public and private readers with unlimited reader groups, at a published $100 per month, is the billing model here that does not punish success, and the $25 author and $50 knowledge base add-ons make growth calculable.

Helpjuice is the stronger choice once several people write. Thirty users on a flat $249, or a hundred on $449 with SSO included, beats per-author pricing at any team size above four.

ProProfs is the cheapest genuine entry at $49 per author per month, and the right pick for a one or two person team publishing a focused help center. Budget the $300 per year for a custom domain and white labeling, and check the 300-page ceiling on the entry plan against your library.

Document360 is the right answer when governance is the requirement and a procurement cycle is acceptable. It runs internal and external documentation from one platform, and the absence of a public price is a scheduling problem rather than a capability gap.

Archbee wins on portfolio economics. Unlimited spaces and unlimited readers on a flat plan is the cheapest way to run several portals, provided you budget the $350 Scaling tier for the versioning you will need anyway.

ClickHelp is for a named technical writer with a formal review workflow. GitBook is for docs that ship from the repository.

Among the bundles, the ranking is decided by what you were going to buy anyway. Zoho Desk at $14 per user is the cheapest entry and publishes its multilingual and multi-brand gates more clearly than anyone, Freshdesk at $19 names the knowledge base on its entry plan, Help Scout is the fastest free start, Zendesk is the full suite at $55, and Intercom is the most expensive route to a private help center at $85 per seat.

Read every entry as a winner by scenario. If the scenario changes, the ranking changes with it.

FAQ

Is a help center the same as a knowledge base? A help center is one kind of knowledge base: the one your customers read. The wider knowledge base software category also covers internal wikis, developer documentation portals, and knowledge modules attached to help desks.

Can I buy just the knowledge base from Zendesk or Intercom? No. Five products on this page sell a support platform that contains a knowledge base, and the knowledge base is not available separately. The lowest plan carrying a usable help center is Suite Team at $55 per agent for Zendesk and Essential at $19 per seat for Intercom, rising to $85 per seat on Intercom Advanced if the help center has to be private.

What is the cheapest way to publish a customer help center? Help Scout's free tier publishes one Docs site for five users, and ProProfs has a free plan for one author and 25 pages. Beyond a pilot, ProProfs at $49 per author per month and Archbee at $80 per month flat are the cheapest published entries that do not also require buying a ticketing system.

Can Notion be used as a customer help center? It can publish public pages, and it is not a help center. Branding, search tuning, reader permissions, and article governance all take manual design in Notion that a purpose-built help center provides by default.

How much does a multilingual help center cost? None of the twelve publishes a per-word or per-character rate. It is a tier gate almost everywhere. The cheapest published gates are Zoho Desk Professional at $23 per agent, ProProfs Essentials at $49 per author, and Intercom Advanced at $85 per seat. Archbee puts localization on its $350 flat plan, and Document360 treats languages as one of six quote inputs.

Do I need a custom domain for my help center? If the help center is public and you care about brand or search, yes. Confirm which plan includes it and whether you can control canonical tags and the page head, because those vary by tier at most vendors on this list.

What should I test during a trial? Import 30 real articles including your ugliest one with tables and images, recreate your actual category structure, search for five things using customer wording, configure the permission model you will really need including one gated section, and export everything to see what comes out.

About the author

Macedona is the founder and lead reviewer at SaaS CRM Review, where he has published 175+ in-depth reviews, pricing guides, and comparisons of CRM and SaaS tools. Each review is based on hands-on testing or verified documentation, and every article states clearly which method was used. Pricing and features are checked against official vendor sources, with the verification date noted in the article. Macedona follows a published review methodology and editorial policy. SaaS CRM Review earns affiliate commissions from some links, which never influence ratings or rankings. Read the full affiliate disclosure.

Follow the author: LinkedIn
Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *